Skip to main content

Lake Named to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

Jun 16, 2021
Quentin Lake (Photo: Don Liebig)

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Quentin Lake of the UCLA football team is one of 42 candidates for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced at a luncheon Tuesday with the release of its 2021 Watch List.

College defensive players are nominated to the Watch List based on the IMPACT on their teams on and off the field. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. The 42 represents Ronnie Lott's number during his legendary career.

Lake is coming off a season in which he totaled 33 tackles across five games. He tied for the team lead with four passes defensed, including one in his own end zone to complete a 25-18 win at Arizona State Dec. 5. One week later, Lake registered a season-high 10 tackles and his third-career interception versus crosstown rival USC.

In the classroom, the Irvine, Calif. native was recently chosen to the 2020-21 Academic All-District® 8 Football Team by CoSIDA. Lake has made the Athletic Director's Honor Roll (GPA of at least 3.0 while passing at least 12 quarter units) at the conclusion of nine quarters, including the last seven. He also gave back to the local community as part of the Voting Matters Initiative in August 2020, distributing free backpacks and school supplies to children at a drive-through event alongside teammates in Inglewood, Calif.

Former NFL MVP and Hall of Famer Kurt Warner was the special guest speaker at the luncheon, which was held at The Pacific Club.

The winner of the Lott Trophy, which will be announced in December, will receive $25,000 for his university's general scholarship fund. This is the 18th year for the Lott Trophy, which has donated more than $1.6 million to schools and other charities around the country.

Former UCLA standouts Anthony Barr (2013) and Eric Kendricks (2014) previously won the Lott Trophy.

The 2021 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Josh Jobe, DB, Alabama
Bumper Pool, LB, Arkansas
Arik Smith, LB, Army
Zakoby McClain, LB, Auburn
Kekaula Kaniho, CB, Boise State
Kuony Deng, LB, Cal
Coby Bryan, CB, Cincinnati
Andrew Booth, Jr., CB, Clemson
Nolan Turner, S, Clemson
Silas Kelly, LB, Coastal Carolina
Nate Landman, LB, Colorado
Shaka Heyward, LB, Duke
Nakobe Dean, LB, Georgia
Zack VanValkenburg, DE, Iowa
Mike Rose, LB, Iowa State
Jahron McPherson, S, Kansas State
Yusuf Corker, S, Kentucky
Damone Clark, LB, LSU
Bubba Bolden, S, Miami
Aiden Hutchinson, DT, Michigan
JoJo Domann, LB, Nebraska
Jackson Hankey, LB, North Dakota State
Kyle Hamilton, S, Notre Dame
Brandon Joseph, DB, Northwestern
Zack Harrison, DE, Ohio State
Kayvon Thibodeaux. DE, Oregon
PJ Mustipher, DT, Penn State
Deslin Alexander, DE, Pitt
George Karlafitis, DE, Purdue
Thomas Booker, DE, Stanford
Tre'vius Hodger-Tomlinson, CB, TCU
Quentin Lake, DB, UCLA
Josh Thompson, CB, Texas
Drake Jackson, LB, USC
Devin Lloyd, LB, Utah
Chamarri Conner, DB, Virginia Tech
Nick Jackson, LB, Virginia
Nick Anderson, LB, Wake Forest
Edefuan Ulofoshio, LB, Washington
Alonzo Addae, S, West Virginia
Jack Sanborn, LB, Wisconsin

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derrick Brown, Auburn
2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern