Skip to main content

Two Pac-12 track & field athletes among three men's finalists for The Bowerman

Jul 14, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – OREGON’s Cole Hocker and ARIZONA STATE’s Turner Washington are two of three men’s finalists for The Bowerman, which is presented to the most outstanding male and female performers in collegiate track and field.

Seven total athletes from Pac-12 institutions have won The Bowerman previously, which was first awarded in 2009. Three of those have been men’s winners in Oregon’s Galen Rupp (2009) and Ashton Eaton (2010), and USC’s Michael Norman (2018). With the inclusion of Hocker and Washington, the Pac-12 has had 16 men's finalists for The Bowerman all-time, three more than any other conference.

Cole Hocker - Oregon

A three-time NCAA individual champion in 2021, Hocker completed the mile-3,000m double at the NCAA Indoor Championships in March and became the first to sweep the two events since 2013 as the Ducks clinched the team title. He ran a meet record 3:53.71 to win the indoor mile and clocked the second-fastest mile in collegiate indoor history (3:50.55) earlier in the year to move up to No. 8 on the all-time world chart in that event.

Hocker capped his collegiate season with a victory in the 1,500m at the NCAA Outdoor Championships at Hayward Field with a then-lifetime best of 3:35.35 to become just the third man in NCAA DI history to sweep the mile and 3,000m at the NCAA Indoor Championships and add the 1,500m crown outdoors.

Hocker ranked among the top eight nationally in three events during the outdoor season (800m, 1,500m, 5,000m) and was the Pac-12 champion in the 5,000m. While not part of consideration for The Bowerman, he followed his collegiate season by winning the 1,500m at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in 3:35.28 and will be one of nine from Oregon track and field on Team USA in Tokyo.

Turner Washington – Arizona State

Also a three-time NCAA individual champion in 2021, Washington ended the year with eight of the top-10 seasonal marks in the discus, seven of the top-10 seasonal marks in the outdoor shot put, and four of the top-10 seasonal marks in the indoor shot put, including the collegiate record of 21.85m (71-8¼). His 66.26m (217-5) mark in the discus also made him the No. 7 performer in collegiate history. Washington is the only man in collegiate history with current all-time top-10 efforts in both the discus and any shot put.

Washington was a perfect 14-0 in collegiate competition throughout the indoor and outdoor seasons. He broke the collegiate indoor shot record at the second meet of the year before going on to win the NCAA indoor title a month later. Moving outdoors, Washington was never under 68 feet and ultimately hit his outdoor PR (21.10m/69-2¾) at the NCAA Championships en route to his second title of 2021. Washington broke the ASU program discus record four times this year and his outdoor NCAA title in the event made him just the third man in DI history to sweep the indoor and outdoor shot-put titles and add a discus crown all in the same year.

The Bowerman

The Bowerman Advisory Board is a panel of track and field experts from around the nation who select the finalists based on performances recorded during the 2021 indoor and outdoor track and field seasons. Only performances from December 1, 2020, through the conclusion of the 2021 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Eugene, Oregon, were eligible for consideration. Marks or performances from the U.S. Olympic Team Trials were not considered.

The Bowerman voting panel consist of national and regional media personnel, track and field statisticians, NCAA collegiate administrators, past winners and presidents of affiliated organizations. USTFCCCA members and fans receive one collective vote apiece. Online fan voting is now open at and closes Tuesday, July 20 at 11 a.m. (PT).

JuVaughn Harrison of LSU is the other men’s finalist. This year's winners will be announced Friday, Dec. 17 during the annual USTFCCCA Convention in Orlando, Fla.