Skip to main content

Husky Hall Of Fame Welcomes Class Of 2021

Jul 15, 2021

The Husky Hall of Fame's newest class of honorees spotlights the deep history of the University of Washington's athletic department and some of the greatest names of its recent history.
It also honors five men whose stance against racial inequity changed the course of future student-athletes' experiences at the UW.
The Husky Hall of Fame's Class of 2021, announced today, is as follows:
• Jon Brockman, Men's Basketball, 2005-2009
• Claire Carter, Women's Tennis, 2001-2004
• Eric Drew, Men's Tennis, 1996-1999
• Gregg Alex, Ralph Bayard, Harvy Blanks, Lamar Mills & Carver Gayton, Football, "1969 – The Five Who Dared"
• Jake Locker, Football, 2007-2010
• Kristen Rivera, Softball, 2002-2005
• Marques Tuiasosopo, Football, 1997-2000
• Craig Waibel, Men's Soccer, 1994-1998
The class features two of the most beloved quarterbacks in Washington's rich history at that position, two of the most outstanding tennis players in school history, a hard-working and highly successful basketball star, one of the UW softball program's greatest sluggers, and the first men's soccer player ever to be inducted into the Hall.
It honors the "1969 – The Five Who Dared" for the sacrifice of four Washington football players and one assistant coach, who, amid the social turbulence of the late 1960s, knowing the consequences that they could – and did – face, stepped up to quietly and forcefully use their voice and their platform as student-athletes to protest racial injustice.
For many more details on each of the members of the Husky Hall of Fame Class of 2021, check out the linked document, with details on each. The new class will be inducted around the 2021 Homecoming game, Oct. 16 vs. UCLA, with official ceremonies scheduled for the following day, Oct. 17.
The Husky Hall of Fame was created in 1979 and, in recent years, has named a new class every other year. With the 2020 inductions canceled due to the pandemic, the 2021 class will be the first since 2018. 
Each selection year, the Tyee Club solicits Husky Hall of Fame nominations from the public. For 2021, the selection committee, the members of which reviewed all nominees and collectively chose the new class of inductees, consisted of three Husky Hall of Fame members – Mario Bailey (football), Tina Frimpong Ellerston (soccer), and Courtney Thompson (volleyball) – athletic department staffers Erin O'Connell, Chip Lydum, and Jeff Bechthold; and Hall of Fame curator Dave Torrell.
Additionally, Torrell, a lifelong UW volunteer and Hall of Fame Curator for the last 20 years, will be presented with the Don H. Palmer Award, which was established in 1994 to recognize those who have exemplified a special commitment to the UW Athletic Department. As the unpaid athletic team physician from 1904-1947, Dr. Palmer founded the Big W Alumni Club, the Homecoming Halftime Blanket Parade and the 101 Club. Past award winners include Bill Bissell (1995), Gertrude Peoples (1996), Bruce Terami (1998), Orrin Vincent II (2001), Don Smith (2004), Stanley Pocock (2014), Craig Heyamoto (2016), and Dick Crews (2018).