Skip to main content

Thibodeaux On Bednarik Award Watch List

Jul 19, 2021

PHILADELPHIA — The Maxwell Club announced on Monday that Oregon defensive end Kayvon Thibodeaux is on the preseason watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which has been presented since 1995 to the college defensive player of the year.
Thibodeaux is on the Bednarik Award watch list for the second year in a row, giving the Ducks a player on the preseason list for the fourth straight year.
Thibodeaux was the winner of the Morris Trophy in 2020 as the Pac-12's most outstanding offensive and defensive lineman whiles also earning consensus first-team all-conference status. He became the first Oregon defensive lineman since DeForest Buckner in 2015 to receive all-America honors, landing on three second teams and one third team.
A native of South Central Los Angeles, Thibodeaux became the first player since 2009-10 to lead Oregon in sacks (3.0) and tackles for loss (9.5) for the second straight season. He turned in a dominant performance in the Pac-12 Championship Game to earn MVP honors and lead Oregon to a second straight conference title, totaling 12 quarterback pressures, 2.0 tackles for loss, and one sack.
Thibodeaux and the Ducks will open the 2021 season against Fresno State on September 4 in Autzen Stadium.
» Chuck Bednarik Award watch list
» Lott IMPACT Award watch list
» Phil Steele Defensive Player of the Year
» Walter Camp All-America first team
» Pro Football Focus All-America first team
» Phil Steele All-America first team
» Athlon Sports All-America first team
» Sporting News All-America first team
» Phil Steele All-Pac-12 first team
» Athlon Sports All-Pac-12 first team
» No. 1 defensive end and No. 6 overall nationally by PFF