Skip to main content

McGrew Named 2021 Doak Walker Award Candidate

Jul 21, 2021

DALLAS -- Washington senior Sean McGrew has been named a preseason candidate for the 2021 Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

McGrew is entering his sixth year in the Huskies' program and has averaged 5.2 yards per carry in 36 career games. In the Huskies' four games in 2020, he split the bulk of the carries, but led the team with 43 rushing attempts, 227 yards, four touchdowns and 56.8 yards per game. McGrew is also a pillar for the team off the football field as he was honored with both the Academic Achievement Award and the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award at the team's postseason banquet.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2021 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Former Husky great Greg Lewis was the first-ever recipient of the Doak Walker Award, winning the honor in 1990.