Skip to main content

Hurta Named USTFCCCA National Scholar Athlete Of The Year

Jul 22, 2021

Boulder – Colorado track and field alum Sage Hurta continues to add her to lustrous career as she was named the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Scholar Indoor Athlete of the Year Thursday afternoon.
Hurta, a two-time Academic All-American, graduated from CU this spring with a degree in Chemical and Biological Engineering with a 3.983 GPA. In her five years at CU she earned all A's in every class but one, which also led to her being named the 2019 Pac-12 Cross Country Scholar Athlete of the Year.
The senior is one of two Buffs to ever win a NCAA Championships at every level: as an individual, as a member of a relay team, and as a member of a NCAA Championship team. The 2021 NCAA mile champion, Hurta was a seven-time All-American at Colorado and was named Colorado's Tom Hansen Medal Winner, the highest honor for a graduating senior from the Pac-12.
Hurta is the also CU's NCAA Woman of the Year nomination and is looking to become just the seventh CU Buff to earn three Academic All-America honors that includes Jenny Barringer and Ben Saarel from the CU track and cross country program. She was named to the All-District Academic First Team and is automatically nominated to earn her third CoSIDA Academic All-America honor in the coming weeks.
Hurta is joined by Oregon's Cole Hocker who was named the Men's Indoor Scholar Athlete of the Year, ASU's Turner Washington took both the indoor and outdoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year honors, and LSU's Lisa Gunnarsson who swept the women's Field Scholar Athlete of the Year honors. Tulsa's Patrick Dever took home the Men's Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year honor while USC's Anna Cockrell took the Women's Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year title. The Oregon men took home both National Scholar Team of the Year honors while Arkansas took the indoor women's title and USC took the women's outdoor.
In addition, 16 Colorado Buffaloes were named to the All-Academic team after having a 3.25 GPA or greater and competing at the NCAA West Preliminaries or ranking inside the top-96 for indoors. Both the men and women's team qualified for the USTFCCA All-Academic Team honors with the men having a 3.023 cumulative GPA and the women having a 3.387 cumulative team GPA.  Those recognized are:

Wyatt Rhoads Colorado Master's in Organizational Leadership
Ronald Sayles Colorado Master's in Telecommunications
Dominique Williams Colorado Master's in Organizational Leadership
Tyler Williams Colorado Communication
Tamia Badal Colorado Integrative Physiology
Kaitlyn Barthell Colorado Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Madison Boreman Colorado Psychology
Elizabeth Constien Colorado Cinema Studies
Micaela Degenero Colorado Master's In Technology, Cybersecurty & Policy
Abbey Glynn Colorado Psychology
Eriana Henderson Colorado Master's in Supply Chain Management
Annie Hill Colorado Integrative Physiology
Sage Hurta Colorado Chemical and Biological Engineering
Rachel McArthur Colorado Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Alisa Meraz-Fishbein Colorado Journalism
Abby Nichols Colorado Master's in Organizational Leadership