Skip to main content

Brian Greene Named To Rimington Trophy Watch List

Jul 23, 2021

NEW YORK (July 23, 2021) – Washington State redshirt-senior offensive lineman Brian Greene was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List, the committee announced Friday.
The Rimington Trophy committee worked with ProFootballFocus to narrow down the watch list to the Top-40 centers in the country. The Rimington Trophy is the award given to the nation's top collegiate center.
Greene earned All-Pac-12 Conference Honorable Mention after starting all four games at center last season. The Yakima, Wash. native made his first career start in the win at Oregon State, recorded a team-best four knockdown blocks against No. 11 Oregon, tallied a team-high six knockdown blocks at No. 20 USC and added three more in the season-finale at Utah. Greene walked on and redshirted in 2017, appeared in five games in 2018 and all 13 games in 2019 before winning the starting center job in 2020.
While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:
·       Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
·       Sporting News (SN)
·       Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)
Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.
The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy Committee, provided with data from Pro Football Focus.
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the award has raised over $4.8 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation.
Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.