Skip to main content

Bainivalu, Kirkland Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

Jul 27, 2021

Washington juniors Jaxson Kirkland and Henry Bainivalu were both named to the preseason watch list for the 2021 Outland Trophy, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Tuesday. The 2021 season continues a celebration of the award's 75th anniversary and the watch list contains 80 nominees.

Bainivalu and Kirkland join Luke Wattenberg, who is on the Rimington Trophy watch list for the nation's top center, as UW offensive linemen to be named to preseason watch lists.

Bainivalu was honorable mention All-Pac-12 in 2020 after starting at right guard in all four games last year for the Huskies. In addition, he was named to Pro Football Focus' All-Pac-12 first team and the Associated Press' All-Pac-12 second team.

Kirkland has started in all 33 games he has appeared in three seasons on the Huskies' offensive line. He was named to the Preseason All-Pac-12 First team earlier today after earning All-Pac-12 First team honors in 2020. He is also a preseason second team All-American according to Walter Camp, Athlon and Phil Steele.

The recipient of the 2021 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, live on ESPN in December. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in Omaha, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2022.