Skip to main content

McDuffie, Ulofoshio On Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Jul 27, 2021

Defensive back Trent McDuffie and linebacker Edefuan Ulofoshio were named by the Football Writers Association of America to its 2021 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List today. The sophomores are among 90 defensive standouts to make the initial list.

Both McDuffie and Ulofoshio were previously named to the Bednarik Award watch list for the top defensive player. In addition, McDuffie was named to the Thorpe Award Watch List for the top defensive backs, while Ulofoshio was named to the Butkus Watch List honoring the nation's top linebacker.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists and honored at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet presented by LendingTree on Dec. 6 at the Charlotte Convention Center. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.