Skip to main content

McCabe Finishes Fourth In Olympic Pairs Final

Jul 28, 2021

Two of the most experienced international rowers in UW history wrapped up their competition at the 2020 Olympic Games Wednesday. Canadian Conlin McCabe '12 finished fourth in the men's pair A final, nearly chasing down the bronze medal, while Megan Kalmoe '06 rowed to a fourth place finish in the women's pair B final.
Thursday, a total of eight Washington alumni will race for medals in the men's and women's eights A finals, representing four different nations. Four of the six boats in the men's final include UW alumni in their lineups.
On Wednesday, the men's pair medal final saw all six crews break away from the starting dock bunched together for the first 200 meters or so, before favorite Croatia began to pull away from the pack, with Denmark closest behind. At 500 meters, McCabe's pair was in third place, but less than three-tenths of a second separated third place from sixth.
In the second 500, the Croatian brothers Martin and Valent Sinkovic had a full length on the field, with Romania edging Denmark for second. The Canadian pair had dropped to sixth at 1,000 meters. 
In 1,500 meters, Canada had begun to challenge for third, in a fight with Denmark and Serbia. The Serbs fell off the pace and McCabe's pair had a legitimate shot of catching the Danes. In the end, Denmark's pair held on, reaching the finish line just 0.55 seconds in front of the Canadians.
Croatia won the gold in a time of 6:15.29 with Romania taking the silver (6:16.58). Denmark's time was 6:19.88, just in front of Canada's 6:20.43.
In his three Olympics appearances, McCabe won a silver in 2012 (in the men's eight), before making the A final in both 2016 (6th place in the four) and 2020. He also won two gold medals in Pan American Games, and a bronze at World Championships.
A bit earlier, Kalmoe, the first four-time Olympic rower in U.S. history, raced in the B final, which determines seventh through 12th place. She and American partner Tracy Eisser, fell into fifth place early on, with Romania taking the lead at the start. By 1,000 meters, Australia had moved into first.
With 500 meters to go, the U.S. pair still sat in fifth, but were gaining on the Irish pair, and moved into fourth place in the final quarter of the race. Australia won the final, with Denmark and Romania finishing second and third.
Kalmoe, who won bronze in London in 2012 along with four World Championships medals, and Eisser, a second-time Olympian herself, finished 10th overall, thanks to their fourth-place finish in the B final.
Tomorrow, three UW alumni – coxswain Katelin Guregian '09, Brooke Mooney '18 and Jessica Thoennes '18 – will try to gain the U.S. women their third straight Olympic gold medal in the A final. 
In the following race, five Huskies will compete for medals for four teams in the men's eight final. Two – Simon van Dorp '20 and Bram Schwarz '20 – will compete for the Netherlands while the U.S. (Ben Davison '17), Great Britain (Jacob Dawson '16), and Australia (coxswain Stuart Sim '16) will also represent the UW.
The women's eight A final is scheduled to begin at 6:05 p.m. PT, with the men's eight A final wrapping up the regatta at 6:25 p.m. PT.
Here is the full list of Washington rowers at the 2020 Olympics, including the day and time of their next race:
Washington Rowing Alumni in the 2020 Olympics & Paralympics
(schedule subject to change)
Women's Pair – W2-
Megan Kalmoe '06, USA – finished 10th overall
Men's Pair – M2-
Conlin McCabe '12, Canada – finished 4th overall
Women's Double – W2x
Chiara Ondoli '18, Italy – finished 9th overall
Women's Quad – W4x
Valentina Iseppi '20, Italy – finished 4th overall
Men's Four – M4-
Will Crothers '09, Canada – finished 8th overall
Women's Eight – W8+
Fiona Gammond '15, Great Britain – finished 7th overall
Katelin Guregian '09, USA
Brooke Mooney '18, USA
Jessica Thoennes '18, USA
Next for USA: A final Thu., 6:05 p.m. PT
Men's Eight – M8+
Jacob Dawson '16, Great Britain
Ben Davison '17, USA
Stuart Sim '16, Australia
Bram Schwarz '20, Netherlands
Simon van Dorp '20, Netherlands
Next: A final Thu., July 29, 6:25 p.m. PT
PR3 Mixed Coxed Four – PR3Mix4+
Danielle Hansen '17, USA
First race: heats on Fri., Aug. 27
Michiel Mantel '19, Netherlands
Kirstyn Goodger '14, New Zealand
Phoebe Spoors '17, New Zealand
Yasmin Farooq, U.S. women's team support coach