Skip to main content

McLaughlin To Be Inducted Into AVCA Hall Of Fame

Aug 18, 2021

SEATTLE – Former Washington Volleyball Head Coach Jim McLaughlin, a four-time Pac-12 Coach of the Year who led the Huskies to their first national championship, is part of the 2021 Hall of Fame class for the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA). McLaughlin and three other inductees will be honored on Dec.16 at the AVCA Convention in Columbus, Ohio.
McLaughlin came to Washington in 2001 after the Huskies had finished last in the Pac-10 in 2000. By 2002 the Huskies were into the NCAA tournament, earning McLaughlin his first Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor. Then in 2004 Washington reached the Final Four for the first time in program history, earning McLaughlin AVCA National Coach of the Year honors. One year later, UW took the final step and won the NCAA Championship with a 32-1 record.
The Huskies would go back to the Final Four in 2006 and then in 2013 before McLaughlin left Washington after the 2014 season to coach Notre Dame, where he remained until stepping down in 2017.
He holds the distinction of being the only coach to win both Division I men's and women's volleyball championships. He won a title on the men's side with the University of Southern California in 1990.
McLaughlin is the winningest coach in program history with a 355-90 record and his 189 conference victories rank sixth in Pac-12 history.
McLaughlin is the second former Husky coach inducted into the AVCA Hall of Fame, as Bill Neville, who coached the Dawgs from 1991-2000, was inducted in 2012.