Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Captains Announced For 2021-22 Season

Aug 20, 2021

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Sun Devil Hockey head coach Greg Powers announced the captains for the 2021-22 season on Friday afternoon. 

For the second year in a row, graduate defenseman Jacob Wilson will sport the 'C', along with graduate forward Johnny Walker, who also wore the 'C' last season. Senior forward Jordan Sandhu and graduate forward Willie Knierim will serve as alternate captains. 

"These four are the only men for the job this season," said Powers. "They are all four unbelievable teammates and have helped us build this program with their bare hands. This leadership group is poised to lead us to heights unknown and we can't wait to get to work."

This will be Wilson's third year as a captain after being named an alternate for the 2019-20 season. 

Heading into his fifth year with the program, Walker ended last season with four goals and ten assists in 16 games played. 

Entering his fourth year in maroon and gold, Sandhu has totaled 10 goals and 29 assists. 

While this will be the first time Knierim dons a letter for the Sun Devils, he wore an 'A' for the Dubuque Fighting Saints (USHL) for the 2018-19 season. 

The four will lead one of the most experienced and deep rosters ASU has had to date in the team's last season at Oceanside Ice Arena. 

The Sun Devils open their season at home against UMass Lowell on October 2nd.