Skip to main content

Pac-12 Football

All things Pac-12 football

Pac-12 Performance Awards, presented by Nextiva - Football Week Two

Sep 13, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 today announced its 2021 football season's second weekly performance awards, presented by Nextiva. See below for Week Two's recognitions across the Conference and keep track of the 2021 Offensive Player of the Year watchlist here:

OFFENSE:  CJ Verdell, Jr., RB, Oregon (Chula Vista, CA)

  • Ran for 161 yards and 2 touchdowns on 20 carries in Oregon's historic 35-28 win over then #3 ranked Ohio State.  Also led team with 3 receptions for 34 yards and another score.  Finished with 195 all-purpose yards and 3 total TD.
  • Surpassed 150 yards on the ground for the 5th time in his career and the 11th career 100-yard game (T-5th most in school history).
  • 7th in school history with 2,758 rushing yards and tied for 9th all-time at Oregon with 24 career rushing TD.
  • Oregon's 269 total rushing yards are the most by any team against Ohio State in Ohio Stadium since November 22, 2014.
  • 3rd time winning the award, taking it home in as a sophomore in October 2019 and a freshman in October 2018.

Also nominated:  B.J. Baylor, RB, Oregon State; Micah Bernard, RB, Utah; Jayden Daniels, QB, Arizona State; Jayden de Laura, QB, Washington State, Tanner McKee, QB, Stanford

Check out the 2021 Offensive Player of the Year Watchlist, presented by Nextiva, to learn more. 

DEFENSE:  Kyu Blu Kelly, Jr., CB, Stanford (Las Vegas, NV)

  • Returned an interception 31 yards for a touchdown while adding 7 tackles and 3 pass breakups in 42-28 win at then #14 USC.
  • 1st Stanford player with an interception returned for a touchdown since 2017 when Bobby Okereke returned one 52 yards at Washington State.
  • Held USC WR Drake London to 4 receptions and 68 yards off 10 targets, one week after London had 12 receptions for 137 yards.
  • 1st Stanford player with interceptions in back-to-back weeks since Paulson Adebo in 2019.
  • 1st Stanford player to win the award since Adebo won it twice in 2019.

Also nominated:  Verone McKinley III, S, Oregon; Nate Landman, ILB, Colorado; Avery Roberts, ILB, Oregon State; Darien Butler, LB, Arizona State; Devin Lloyd, LB, Utah; Justus Rogers, LB, Washington State; Anthony Pandy, LB, Arizona

SPECIAL TEAMS:  Travell Harris, R-Sr., WR, Washington State (Tampa, FL)

  • Finished with a total of 188 all-purpose yards, including 58 on 3 punt returns and 50 on 1 kickoff return.  The 50-yard kickoff return is the 3rd longest of his career and 7th time he's had a kickoff return of 40 yards or more.  Had career-long 22-yard punt return which led to a Cougar touchdown.
  • Had 80 receiving yards on 6 receptions including 2 touchdowns.
  • 2nd time he's won the award and the first time a Washington State player has won since Harris won it in September 2018 as a redshirt freshman.
  • 2nd straight week the winner is originally from Tampa, Florida (Arizona State's D.J. Taylor)

Also nominated:  Kyle Ostendorp, P, Arizona; Eddie Czaplicki, P, Arizona State; Camden Lewis, K, Oregon; Alex Stadthaus, PK, USC

OFFENSIVE LINE:  Alex Forsyth, Jr., C, Oregon (West Linn, OR)

  • Helped pave the way for Oregon to run for 269 yards, including 7.1 yards per carry, in Oregon's historic win at then #3 Ohio State. Most rushing yards by any team against Ohio State in Ohio Stadium since November 22, 2014.  Ducks had 505 yards of total offense. 
  • Led Oregon with a whopping 6 knockdowns and did not allow a sack, hurry or pressure all game while recording a terrific 82.3 pass-blocking grade by Pro Football Focus.  Finished with a 70.3 total blocking grade by PFF while playing all 75 offensive snaps at center.
  • Has not allowed a sack, hurry, or pressure in 145 snaps to start the season.
  • First Oregon player to win this award since T.J. Bass won it in November 2020.  The Ducks won the award the first 2 weeks of last season, with Ryan Walk winning it in Week One.

Also nominated:  Kellen Diesch, LT, Arizona State; Joshua Gray, OL, Oregon State; Abe Lucas, OT, Washington State

DEFENSIVE LINE:  Bradyn Swinson, Fr., DE, Oregon (Douglasville, OR)

  • Recorded a critical sack in Oregon's 35-28 win over then #3 Ohio State in Columbus, and finished with 5 total tackles and a pass breakup.  Sacked OSU quarterback CJ Stroud for 8 yards on 1st-and-10 with less than 4 minutes remaining and Oregon leading by 7.  Sack helped set up an Oregon interception that sealed the historic win for the Ducks
  • Matched career-high with 5 total tackles, and set a new career-high with 4 solo stops
  • Notched the second pass breakup of his career, nearly recording his first career interception in the 3rd quarter.
  • 1st Oregon player to win this award since Kayvon Thibodeaux won in December for the final weekly award of the 2020 season.

Also nominated:  Thomas Booker, DE, Stanford; Tyler Johnson, DE, Arizona State; Brennan Jackson, DE, Washington State

FRESHMAN:  Tanner McKee, R-Fr., QB, Stanford (Corona, CA)

  • Was 16-of-23 for 234 yards with 2 touchdowns through the air, while adding a rushing touchdown off 7 rushing yards in his first career start, a 42-28 victory at #14 USC.  First Pac-12 quarterback to beat a Top 25 opponent on the road in his first career start since Stanford's Tavita Pritchard on October 6, 2007 at #2 USC.
  • Had zero turnovers and zero sacks on the night.
  • Only the second Stanford quarterback since 2003 to have 3 total touchdowns in their 1st career start (Kevin Hogan, 2012).  His 234 passing yards are the fourth most by a Stanford quarterback in their first career start, dating back to 2003.
  • The win was Stanford's first at USC since 2015. The 14-point margin of victory is the 5th largest margin of victory at USC in the series history.
  • 2nd Stanford player to win the award since it started in 2019 with Simi Fehoko winning it in October 2019

Also nominated:  Bradyn Swinson, DE, Oregon; Anthony Gould, WR, Oregon State; Eddie Czaplicki, P, Arizona State; Andrew Edson, Edge, Washington State

Date  Offensive Defensive Special Teams Offensive
Defensive Line Freshman
Sept. 7 Zach Charbonnet, UCLA Devin Lloyd, UTAH D.J. Taylor, ASU Alec Anderson, UCLA D.J. Davidson, ASU Justin Flowe, ORE
Sept. 13 CJ Verdell, ORE Kyu Blu Kelly, STAN Travell Harris, WSU Alex Forsyth, ORE Bradyn Swinson, ORE Tanner McKee, STAN