Skip to main content

Musselman Nominated for AAU Sullivan Award

Sep 20, 2021
Two-time Olympic gold medalist Maddie Musselman has been nominated for the 2021 AAU Sullivan Award. Voting open now!

SOCIAL MEDIA: WWP on Twitter | WWP on Facebook | WWP on Instagram

ORLANDO, Fla. -- There is only one national award that puts the best in sports, male and female, head-to-head for the title of "top athlete," the AAU James E. Sullivan Award presented by Eastbay. The vote for the 91st rendition of the award will be open to the public starting Monday, September 20, 2021. The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete in the United States. Representatives from the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) created the Sullivan Award with the intent to recognize contributions and achievements from athletes across the country. 

Two-time Olympic Games gold medalist and the Tokyo Olympic Games Women's Water Polo MVP, Maddie Musselman, has been chosen as one of the 38 nominees.

The finalist voting round opens at 10 a.m. on Monday, September 20 and closes at 11:59 p.m. on Monday, September 27. Voting for the award is open to the public by clicking here. The AAU James E. Sullivan Award presentation will be held at the Rosen Centre in Orlando, Fla., on Friday, October 22 with a special recognition reception in conjunction with the Orlando Magic later that night.
This year's group of nominees includes:
• Aari McDonald, Women's Basketball, University of Arizona
• Allyson Felix, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
• Ariel Torres, Karate, USA Karate
• Athing Mu, Track and Field, USA Track and Field/Texas A&M
• Ayo Dosunmu, Basketball, University of Illinois
• Brad Snyder, Paralympic Swimming & Triathlon, US Naval Academy
• Caeleb Dressel, Swimming, USA Swimming
• Caitlin Clark, Women's Basketball, University of Iowa
• Dana Rettke, Volleyball, University of Wisconsin
• Dani Jones, Track and Field, University of Colorado Boulder
• David Taylor, Wrestling, USA Wrestling
• Drew Timme, Basketball, Gonzaga University
• Erriyon Knighton, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
• Evan Medell, Paralympic Taekwondo, USA Taekwondo
• Gable Steveson, Wrestling, University of Minnesota/USA Wrestling
• Grant Holloway, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
• Javonte Perkins, Basketball, Saint Louis University
• Jocelyn Alo, Softball, University of Oklahoma
• Julia Arciola, Baton Twirling, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
• Justin Fields, Football, Ohio State University
• Kevin Kopps, Baseball, University of Arkansas
• Logan Eggleston, Volleyball, University of Texas
• Luka Garza, Basketball, University of Iowa
• Lydia Jacoby, Swimming, USA Swimming
• Maddie Musselman, Water Polo, USA Water Polo
• Madison Lilley, Volleyball, University of Kentucky
• Michael Penix Jr, Football, Indiana University
• Nick Lee, Wrestling, Penn State University
• Nick Piccininni, Wrestling, Oklahoma State University
• Obi Toppin, Basketball, University of Dayton
• Paige Bueckers, Women's Basketball, University of Connecticut
• Ryan Crouser, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
• Sam Howell, Football, University of North Carolina
• Simone Biles, Gymnastics, USA Gymnastics
• Sunisa Lee, Gymnastics, USA Gymnastics
• Sydney Hilley, Volleyball, University of Wisconsin
• Sydney McLaughlin, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
• Tamyra Mensah Stock, Wrestling, USA Wrestling
"These exceptional athletes truly embody the spirit of the AAU James E. Sullivan Award," said Jennings "Rusty" Buchanan, AAU President and CEO of the AAU. "They not only top performers in their sport, but also display qualities of leadership, good character, and sportsmanship both on and off the field."
Last year, the AAU crowned co-winners Sabrina Ionescu, University of Oregon, and Spencer Lee, University of Iowa. Ionescu became the seventh basketball player to take home the award, while Lee became the fifth wrestler to be named the top athlete. The pair are the third duo to win, following the footsteps of the 86th recipients, former Navy quarterback, Keenan Reynolds and former University of Connecticut forward, Breanna Stewart in 2015 and the basketball twins Kelly and Coco Miller in 1999.
Ionescu and Lee joined a world renowned list of Sullivan Award recipients, including famed Olympians Michelle Kwan (2001), Michael Phelps (2003), Shawn Johnson (2008), Peyton Manning (1997), and Missy Franklin (2012).