Skip to main content

Golf Teams Competing Together in Columbus Oct. 4-5 at Barbara Nicklaus Cup

Sep 30, 2021

An event unlike any other in collegiate golf debuts on Oct. 4 in Ohio after nearly two years of delays

The Sun Devils men's and women's golf teams travel to the Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, OH, to compete together in the first Barbara Nicklaus Cup.

"Both programs are thrilled to be able to participate in such a unique and creative event," Women's Golf Head Coach Missy Farr-Kaye remarked. "We can't wait to compete with our men's team and work with Coach Thurmond and Coach Kirakossian."

With the men and women competing together, the match will take place with a combination of mixed foursomes and singles matches. Teams can earn up to eight points per match.

"This will provide valuable match play expereince for both teams," Coach Farr-Kaye remarked. "Our goal is to be as comfortable as possible with this format before the NCAA Championships."

--New Barbara Nicklaus Cup will feature mixed college team matches at Muirfield Village (by Dave Shedloski, Golf Digest/Sept. 15, 2021)

Arizona State will compete against the Ohio State Buckeyes, Florida State Seminoles and Auburn Tigers. The match will take place on Oct. 4-5 and will not count toward NCAA or Golfstat rankings. The Sun Devils will tee off against the Buckeyes at 8:05 a.m. ET on Monday, and will then take on Auburn at 1:40 p.m. ASU will take on the Seminoles on Tuesday Oct. 5.

The men's team heads to Dublin after a solid first week, where they finished in second place at the Fighting Illini invitation only behind the North Carolina Tar Heels. The Sun Devils finished three shots back from first, and cleared third place Oklahoma State by six strokes. This came on the heels of a solid performance at the Maridoe Invitational David Puig and Cameron Sisk led the Devils, tying for second place, shooting two under 208.

The women's team also heads to Dublin on the heels of a strong outing in the Annika Intercollegiate Tournament. Freshman Calynne Rosholt finished with a 1-under 215 and was the fourth highest placing freshman in the field.

Cameron Sisk, Mason Andersen, Ryggs Johnston, Francisco Coelho, Jose Luis Ballester and Preston Summerhays will be making the trip as the competing members of the men's squad. Alexandra Forsterling, Alessandra Fanali, Amanda Linner, Ashlye Menne, Calynne Rosholt, and Breyana Matthews make up the women's squad, as all six golfers on the roster will be making the trip.

For the latest updates and information on the Sun Devil Men's Women's Golf program, follow our Twitter/Instagram accounts (@SunDevilMGolf/@SunDevilWGolf), like our Facebook pages, and visit our website (