Skip to main content

Bears Head South To UCSB Classic

Oct 6, 2021
The Bears, who play at home for the first time this season in January, compete in the Gauchos' annual tournament starting Friday.

BERKELEY – Four members of the California men's tennis team – Alex Chang, Noah Gampel, Lucas Magnaudet and Michael Wright – will compete in the UCSB Classic from Friday through Sunday in Santa Barbara. The Golden Bears will play for singles and doubles titles in the Gauchos' annual event.
Please click on the links to the draws above to view Cal's matches to start the UCSB Classic.
Last Time: Bears At ITA All-Americans
Cal completed its run in the ITA All-American Championships on Tuesday, when Yuta Kikuchi and Carl Emil Overbeck lost in qualifying singles at the University of Tulsa's Case Tennis Center.
Kikuchi, ranked 124th, upset the draw's top seed – South Florida's 47th-ranked Chase Ferguson – 6-1, 6-3, in the morning round of 64. But the Cal senior fell to Pepperdine's 117th-ranked Daniel De Jonge, 6-1, 7-5, in the round of 32. In the round of 64, Overbeck lost a tight three-setter to Central Florida's Trey Hilderbrand, 6-4, 3-6, 6-4.
Cal senior Philip Hjorth competed in prequalifying singles in Tulsa but did not advance.
Last Time At The UCSB Classic
Cal wrapped up a successful trip to the 2019 UCSB Classic, with Golden Bear senior Dominic Barretto winning the A singles title and teammates Thomas Wright and Mert Zincirli capturing a doubles title as the annual tournament came to a close.

Barretto beat Stanford's Neel Rajeesh, 1-6, 7-5, 6-2, to give Cal its fourth UCSB Classic top-flight singles champion over the past seven years – including Nikhil Jayashankar in 2013, Mads Engsted in 2014 and Billy Griffith in 2015.

In the B Doubles final, Zincirli and Wright defeated Fresno State's Daniel Baturyn and Johannes Seeman, 8-5, giving Cal its second B Doubles crown in the previous six years, including the title that Engsted and Wyatt Houghton won in 2014.
Next Time
The Bears compete in the ITA Northwest Regional Championships from Oct. 13-17 in Moraga, California.