Skip to main content

Cameron Sisk Named Ben Hogan Award's September Golfer of The Month

Oct 14, 2021

Earlier this week Cameron Sisk was named a nominee for The Ben Hogan Award September Golfer of the Month. Following social media and committee voting this week, the Arizona State senior has earned the honor.

Sisk is the fourth Sun Devil finalist since the monthly award since its creation in the summer of 2019, is the first ASU golfer to be recognized as Golfer of the Month.
A native of San Diego, Calif., he was named Pac-12 Golfer of the Month after grabbing a victory and logging a runner-up finish in two events. The senior began the collegiate season by winning the Maridoe Collegiate Invitational in a sudden-death playoff following a 7-under par score of 209 (70-66-73) over 54 holes.
That same week, he finished tied for second place at the Olympia Fighting Illini Invitational with a 2-under, 208 (71-69-68) to finish two shots off the lead. For the month of September, Sisk recorded a stroke average of 69.50 over six rounds.
The other finalists for the September honor were fellow seniors Ryan Gerard of North Carolina nad Luke Kluver of Kansas. The Ben Hogan Award's monthly honor counts any college, amateur or professional event completed during the month.
Fifteen total ballots were cast, with 12 ballots coming from members of the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation and Friends of Golf and three social media fan ballots. Sisk claimed the Instagram and Facebook votes, while Kluver collected the Twitter ballot.
The Ben Hogan Award is presented by PNC Bank and is given each May to the top men's college golfer considering all collegiate, amateur, and professional competitions played over the previous 12 months. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas and revised its criteria to the standard of honoring the most outstanding amateur and collegiate golfer. Winning a monthly award is not a prerequisite to be named a semifinalist, finalist, or winner of The Ben Hogan Award.