Skip to main content

Richardson Named to Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Oct 18, 2021

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Senior Will Richardson was one of 20 players nationally named to the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award watch list by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday.
The Pac-12 preseason all-conference first team selection closed out conference play last season with four consecutive double-digit scoring outings, including a career-high 22 points at Oregon State. Richardson followed that up with 19 points (7-10 FG), seven assists and six rebounds in the win over Iowa in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.
Richardson has helped the Ducks to two Sweet Sixteen appearances and two consecutive Pac-12 conference championships. He enters the season with a chance to move into Oregon's career top 10 lists in steals, assists, three-point field goal percentage and wins.
Richardson's former teammate Payton Pritchard became the first Oregon player to win the award when he was honored in 2020. Other previous winners include Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016) and Delon Wright, Utah (2015).
Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA's 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.
The winner of the 2022 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women's Starting Five.
For more information on the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 22.
2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*
Jahvon Quinerly          Alabama
Antoine Davis              Detroit
Jeremy Roach              Duke
Andrew Nembhard     Gonzaga
Andre Curbelo             Illinois
Remy Martin               Kansas
Sahvir Wheeler           Kentucky
DeVante' Jones           Michigan
Caleb Love                   North Carolina
Max Abmas                 Oral Roberts
Will Richardson          Oregon
Kendric Davis              SMU
Kyle Lofton                  St. Bonaventure
Kennedy Chandler      Tennessee
Marcus Carr                Texas
Tyger Campbell           UCLA
Scotty Pippen Jr.         Vanderbilt
Collin Gillespie             Villanova
Kihei Clark                   Virginia
Paul Scruggs                Xavier
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season*