Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Tubelis on Preseason Watch List for Karl Malone Award

Oct 21, 2021

TUCSON, Arizona – Arizona sophomore forward Azuolas Tubelis was one of 20 forwards across the country listed on the preseason watch list for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, which is handed out to the top player at the position each season. Last week, Tubelis was named to the Preseason All Pac-12 Second Team as voted on by the conference's media.
As a freshman, Tubelis averaged 12.2 points and 7.1 rebounds per game while shooting 49.8% from the floor over 26 games. In Pac-12 play, his production increased to 13.7 points and 7.8 rebounds. He scored in double figures 17 times and had three double-doubles on the year. Among the many highlights during the season, Tubelis scored 31 points and grabbed eight rebounds against USC and had the game-winning baskets in the closing seconds at Arizona State and Washington.
A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just 5. In March the five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected. 
The winner of the 2022 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women's Starting Five.
Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).
For more information on the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 22.
 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates* 

Azoulas Tubelis Arizona
Jabari Smith Auburn
David Roddy Colorado St.
Paolo Banchero Duke
Drew Timme Gonzaga
Trayce Jackson-Davis Indiana
Kenneth Lofton Jr. Louisiana Tech
Eli Scott Loyola Marymount
Darius Days LSU
Donta Scott Maryland
DeAndre Williams Memphis
Dawson Garcia North Carolina
EJ Liddell Ohio State
Quincy Guerrier Oregon
Trevion Williams Purdue
John Fulkerson Tennessee
Tre Mitchell Texas
Isaiah Mobley USC
Jayden Gardner Virginia
Keve Aluma Virginia Tech