Skip to main content

Pac-12 Hoops Central

All things Pac-12
Men's & Women's Basketball

Eight former Pac-12 student-athletes named to the NBA 75th Anniversary Team

Oct 22, 2021

Eight former Pac-12 student-athletes have been named to the NBA 75th Anniversary Team, announced by the NBA on Thursday, Oct. 21. A panel of current and former NBA players, coaches, executives, WNBA legends, sportswriters and broadcasters was asked to select the 75 best players of all-time.

Four of the final honorees were student-athletes at UCLA—Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Reggie Miller, Bill Walton, and Russell Westbrook. Abdul-Jabbar and Walton both won national championships under legendary coach John Wooden before starring in the NBA. 

James Harden (Arizona State), Jason Kidd (California), Gary Payton (Oregon State), and Bill Sharman (USC) also made the cut. 

Much to his chagrin, former Washington State standout Klay Thompson was left off the list. 

Harden and Westbrook, playing for the Brooklyn Nets and Los Angeles Lakers, respectively, are the only active players on the list. Kidd is currently the head coach of the Dallas Mavericks. 

Be sure to follow #Pac12MBB and throughout this upcoming men's basketball season to see the current Pac-12 stars who could someday join this group of legends. 

Player Pac-12 University NBA Teams
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar UCLA Los Angeles Lakers, Milwaukee Bucks
James Harden Arizona State Houston Rockets, Oklahoma City Thunder, Brooklyn Nets
Jason Kidd California Dallas Mavericks, Phoenix Suns, New Jersey Nets, New York Knicks
Reggie Miller UCLA Indiana Pacers
Gary Payton Oregon State Seattle SuperSonics, Milwaukee Bucks, Los Angeles Lakers, Boston Celtics, Miami Heat
Bill Sharman USC Boston Celtics, Washington Capitals
Bill Walton UCLA Portland Trail Blazers, Los Angeles Clippers, Boston Celtics
Russell Westbrook UCLA Oklahoma City Thunder, Houston Rockets, Washington Wizards, Los Angeles Lakers