Skip to main content

Thompson-Robinson Named to O'Brien Award QB Class

Oct 26, 2021
Dorian Thompson-Robinson (1)

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 26, 2021) – The Davey O'Brien Foundation has announced that UCLA's Dorian Thompson-Robinson is one of 40 quarterbacks named to the Davey O'Brien QB Class of 2021. Each member of the group is now an official candidate to win the 2021 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.
Thompson-Robinson is 17th in the NCAA and first in the Pac-12 in points responsible for with 120 this season. His average of 15.0 points responsible for per game is 25th in the nation and first in the conference. Thompson-Robinson is tied for second among Pac-12 players with 14 touchdown passes this season. He is also second in the conference in passing yard average per completion with a mark of 13.33. Earlier this season, at Washington, he completed all eight passing attempts on the 90-yard fourth quarter game-winning drive. His 21-26 passing effort (.807) in the Washington game marked his third career contest in which he completed at least .800 of his passes. (13-15 at Cal 2018 .866; 30-36 at USC .833 2020).

The Bruin quarterback is in position to move up the all-time school charts in several categories and currently sits 6th on the UCLA list in career passing yards (6,771- next on that list is Cory Paus, 1999-02 with 6,877). Thompson-Robinson is up to 5th on the school career-total-offense list (7,702) with Drew Olson (2002-05) next in line in fourth (8,324). Thompson-Robinson (54-5th) is now closing in on Josh Rosen (2015-17) who holds down 4th on the school career TD passes list with 59.
The next step in the process will be to select the award's 16 semifinalists from the 40 quarterbacks. The semifinalists will be chosen based on voting from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee as well as the first round of the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote.
For the second straight year, the Fan Vote will take place on the award's three social media platforms—Instagram, Twitter and Facebook—and the top five vote-getters on each will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.
To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O'Brien Award post highlighting the quarterback. Each round of the selection process (semifinalist, finalist and winner) will offer two one-week voting periods for fans. The 16 semifinalists will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 9, while the finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 23. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.
The Davey O'Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.
In 1938, O'Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit