Skip to main content

Next Up For UW Rowers: 2021 Head Of The Lake

Nov 3, 2021

Washington's men's and women's rowing teams are back in action this Sunday for the annual Head of the Lake Regatta, which gets underway at 8:00 a.m. PT.
The annual event, co-hosted by the UW and Lake Washington Rowing Club, features a three-mile course, which starts in Lake Union, northeast of Gasworks Park, crosses Portage Bay, runs through the Montlake Cut and finishes in Union Bay of Lake Washington, just east of Conibear Shellhouse. See the link to the map for more.
Huskies will race in a number of events over the course of the day, which will include a total of 42 race categories (some of which have multiple flights) for youth, clubs, college and masters crews.
Here's the schedule of races that may involve UW entries:
8:00 a.m., Event #1: Men's Collegiate/Open 8+ Ben Porter Cup
8:04 a.m., Event #2: Men's Collegiate JV 8+
8:08 a.m., Event #3: Championship Women's 8+ Sponsored by Pocock Racing Shells
8:11 a.m., Event #4: Women's Collegiate JV 8+
8:17 a.m., Event #5: Men's Collegiate 3V8+
8:52 a.m., Event #11: Women's Collegiate Open 4+
9:56 a.m., Event #19: Championship Men's 4+ Sponsored by Pocock Racing Shells
10:21 a.m., Event #21: Men's Open 1x William Tytus Cup
11:12 a.m., Event #26: Women's Collegiate 2-
(Note: UW's entries have yet to be fully determined in some race categories. Follow live results link for the latest).
Last year's Head of the Lake Regatta (like essentially every collegiate rowing event in the fall of 2020) was cancelled due to the pandemic. In 2019, Washington's men and women won each of the races in which they were entered. 
This year, the men's team is expected to enter the three eights races, the fours and the men's open single sculls, the William Tytus Cup. The women's team will row only in eights, fours and pairs.
The Head of the Lake is the final event of the fall for the Washington men's team, while the women will head to the Bay Area next Saturday for the Head of the Lagoon, in Foster City, Calif., their final competition until next spring.