Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

100 Greatest of All Time

Nov 9, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. – A blue-ribbon panel named 17 former Stanford women's swimmers and divers to the CSCAA 100 Greatest Women's Swimmers and Divers, the coaches' association announced on Tuesday.

The 17 selections is the most by any single school, and helps comprise a class that accumulated 642 total titles in their career.

Nearly three thousand athletes were nominated, with blue-ribbon panel of current and former college swimmers, coaches, and members of the media making selections from a list of 973 finalists.Eighty-seven swimmers and thirteen divers were selected. They hail from twenty-eight states and thirteen countries. Highlights of the selections include 12 members of the International Swimming Hall of Fame and 59 Olympians.

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), is the nation's first organization of college coaches. The mission of the CSCAA is to advance the sport of swimming and diving with coaches at the epicenter of leadership, advocacy, and professional development.

The CSCAA's 100th birthday celebration will continue with upcoming announcements recognizing Centennial MVP's for each team along with a listing of the 100 Greatest Coaches, 100 Alumni of Impact. The anniversary will culminate with the Association's convention and awards banquet, May 2-4, 2022 in Rosemont, Illinois.

The full list of Stanford's honorees can be found below:

Elaine Breeden

A three-time national champion in the 200 fly, Breeden ended her career with four national titles. She added seven Pac-10 titles and 24 All-America honors, while leading the Cardinal to a runner-up finish 2010.

Ella Eastin

Eastin ended her Stanford career with 12 NCAA titles to her name. She is the only woman in NCAA history to win four straight titles in the 400 IM, and set NCAA records in the 200 fly, 200 IM, 400 IM and 800 free relay.

Janet Evans

An eight-time All-American, Evans dominated the distance events in her Stanford career. She swept the 500 free and 1650 free in 1990 and 1991, and she added a 400 IM title in 1990. She added two national titles in relays during those seasons as well – both in the 800 free relay.

Catherine Fox

Fox was a 28-time All-American during her career at Stanford, tied for the most All-America honors in program history. She won 10 NCAA titles while with the Cardinal, including three straight in the 50 free.

Misty Hyman

Hyman is one of three Stanford swimmers to end her career with 28 All-America honors in her career. She won 12 NCAA titles, including five total titles in leading the Cardinal to the 1998 NCAA team title.

Linda Jezek

Jezek earned five All-America honors at the 1980 AIAW national championship. She led the Cardinal to the inaugural team title.

Jenna Johnson

A sprint specialist, Johnson swept the 50 free, 100 free and 100 fly at the 1986 NCAA Championships. She added three other individual titles in those events and added four relay national titles and was a 14-time All-American in her career.

Janel Jorgensen

With 27 All-America honors in her career, Jorgensen ranks second in program history in career honors. She won 15 NCAA titles in her career, including five in individual events.

Tara Kirk

A 16-time All-American and 11-time NCAA champion, Kirk won the Honda Sport Award in the 2003-04 season. The NCAA Swimmer of the Year in 2004, she won four straight titles in the 100 breast – three straight in the 200 breast.

Katie Ledecky

In addition to being one of two freshmen to win the Honda Cup Award, Ledecky owns three NCAA records – 500 free, 1650 free and 800 free relay. She won eight NCAA titles in only two years of college swimming, and had nine All-America honors in her career.

Valerie Lee

Lee was a 13-time AIAW All-American in her career. She earned five All-America honors at the 1978 championship. 

Marybeth Linzmeier

Linzmeier won 11 NCAA titles while with the Cardinal and 20 All-America honors while leading the Cardinal to the 1983 team title. She swept the 200 free, 500 free and 1650 free in 1982 and 1984, and won three straight titles in the 500 free and 1650 free.

Simone Manuel

The first woman to break 46 seconds in the 100 free, Manuel led the Cardinal to NCAA team titles in 2017 and 2018. A 14-time NCAA champion, she won six titles at the 2018 NCAA Championships, and holds NCAA records in the 100 free and 800 free relay.

Eileen Richetelli

Richetelli was the NCAA Diver of the Year in 1992 and 1993, leading the Cardinal to back-to-back titles. She won three NCAA titles on the platform (1992, 1993, 1995) and two on the 3-meter (1992-93).

Summer Sanders

Sanders was a 12-time All-American in her Stanford career, winning 10 NCAA titles in the process. She swept the 200 fly, 200 IM and 400 IM titles in 1991 and 1992, and she led the Cardinal to a team title in 1992.

Julia Smit

Smit, who was recently inducted into the Stanford Hall of Fame, was the NCAA Swimmer of the Year in 2010 – also winning the Honda Sports Award. Her 28 All-America honors are tied for first in school history, and she won six NCAA titles and 10 Pac-10 titles.

Jenny Thompson

One of the most decorated women's swimmers in history, Thompson ended her career with the 1994-95 Honda Sports Award. She won nine NCAA titles in her career, including four straight titles in the 100 free from 1992-95.