Skip to main content

USC's Nick Figueroa Named Jason Witten College Man Of The Year Award Semifinalist

Nov 10, 2021

LOS ANGELES — USC senior defensive lineman Nick Figueroa was named one of 20 semifinalists for the 2021 Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award.

The award is presented to a player who has demonstrated a record of leadership by exhibiting exceptional courage, integrity and sportsmanship both on and off the field. It is the first college football honor to focus primarily on a player's leadership, a term synonymous with Jason Witten, who, in addition to becoming one of the best tight ends in the history of the sport and the Dallas Cowboys' all-time leading receiver, served as one of football's most prominent role models during his 16-year pro career.

Three finalists will be named for the award on Dec. 15. The winner will be announced at an award ceremony on Feb. 17, 2022, in Frisco, Texas. The winner will also receive a $10,000 contribution in his name, made by Witten's SCORE Foundation, to his school's athletic scholarship fund.

Figueroa has made 10 tackles (2 for losses) in 2021. He led the 2020 Trojans in tackles for loss (7) and sacks (3.5) when he was named All-Pac-12 honorable mention. He has 39 tackles in his career (10 for losses).

He also is a semifinalist for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy and the Senior CLASS Award, both presented to the nation's top scholar-athlete.

Figueroa earned his bachelor's degree in real estate development from USC in the spring of 2021 and now is working on a master's in finance. He has a 3.76 GPA.

Joining Figueroa as 2021 Witten Award semifinalists are: Grant Morgan (Arkansas), Brandon Martin (Ball State), James Empey (BYU), Elijah Hicks (California), Desmond Ridder (Cincinnati), Darien Rencher (Clemson), Jake Bobo (Duke), Vederian Lowe (Illinois), Skylar Thompson (Kansas State), Joshua Paschal (Kentucky), Tanner Morgan (Minnesota), Austin Williams (Mississippi State), Adrian Martinez (Nebraska), Patrick Fields (Oklahoma), Sean Clifford (Penn State), Kingsley Jonathan (Syracuse), Tony Bradford, Jr. (Texas Tech), Bryce Harris (Toledo) and Brock Hoffman (Virginia Tech).

Last year, Texas' Sam Ehlinger won the award. The inaugural Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year was presented to Shaquem Griffin of UCF in 2017, followed by Wisconsin's D'Cota Dixon in 2018 and Tennessee's Trey Smith in 2019.