Skip to main content

Nine Pac-12 Cross Country teams earn 2021 NCAA Championships berths

Nov 13, 2021

NCAA Championships selections announcement

SAN FRANCISCO – Nine Pac-12 programs as well as two individuals earned berths in the 2021 NCAA Cross Country Championships field unveiled on the NCAA selection show Saturday afternoon. 

Stanford swept the men's and women's team titles at the NCAA West Regional cross country championships on Friday and Washington's men and women came in second in both races to secure that region's four automatic qualifying spots. Colorado qualified both it's Pac-12 champion men's and women's programs, with the women nabbing an automatic berth by virtue of their second-place finish at the NCAA Mountain Regional, while the men secured an at-large selection. The men and women of Oregon also earned at-large bids, as did the Utah women.

Florida State University will host the championships, Saturday, Nov. 20, at Apalachee Regional Park in Tallahassee, Fla., with the Pac-12 seeking to add to its national-best totals of 29 combined team crowns and 29 combined individual titles. The women’s race will begin at 10:20 a.m. ET/7:20 a.m. PT, followed by the men’s race at 11:10 a.m. ET/8:20 a.m. PT. Coverage of the championships will be available ESPNU and the ESPN app beginning at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT.

No. 3 Colorado (Auto – 2nd NCAA Mountain Regional; 31st NCAA appearance, 13th consecutive)
No. 7 Utah (At-Large – 5th NCAA Mountain Regional; fourth NCAA appearance)
No. 20 Oregon (At-Large – 3rd NCAA West Regional; 32nd NCAA appearance)
No. 21 Washington (Auto – 2nd NCAA West Regional; 28th NCAA appearance, 15th consecutive)
No. 26 Stanford (Auto – 1st NCAA West Regional; 34th NCAA appearance, 29th consecutive)
Kaylee Mitchell, Oregon State (Individual – 12th NCAA West Regional)

It marks the 12th time in 13 seasons at least five Pac-12 women’s programs advanced to compete at the NCAA Championships.

The Conference will be seeking its 14th all-time women’s team champion, the most recent coming from Colorado in 2018, as well as its fifth women’s individual titlist after Dani Jones claimed the crown three seasons ago.

No. 2 Colorado (At-Large – 3rd NCAA Mountain Regional; 51st NCAA appearance, 30th consecutive)
No. 5 Stanford (Auto – 1st NCAA West Regional; 30th NCAA appearance, 28th consecutive)
No. 13 Washington (Auto – 2nd NCAA West Regional; 19th NCAA appearance, fifth consecutive)
No. 16 Oregon (At-Large – 4th NCAA West Regional; 45th NCAA appearance)
Amir Ado, Washington State (Individual – 13th NCAA West Regional)

It marks the seventh time in eight seasons at least four Pac-12 men’s programs reached the national title meet.

The Pac-12 owns the second-most men’s team (16) and most individual (25) national champions of any conference.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in the Championship. The top two teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large. Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their regions.