Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

USC's Drake London Named Semifinalist For Biletnikoff Award

Nov 15, 2021

USC junior wide receiver Drake London has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2021 Biletnikoff Award, presented to college football's outstanding receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.
Three finalists will be named for the award on Nov. 23, with the Biletnikoff Award winner announced on Dec. 9 at The Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta and then honored at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet on March 5, 2022, in Tallahassee.
Before suffering a broken ankle on a tackle while catching a touchdown late in the first half of Game 8, London's body of work in 2021 was tremendous. He tallied 88 receptions for 1,084 yards with 7 TDs in just 7.5 games. He was a 2021 Mid-Season All-American by numerous outlets, and he is currently is second in the nation in receptions per game (11.0) and third in receiving yards per game (135.5).
Using an average-receptions-per-game projection, London's 8-game total of 88 catches will surpass all but a dozen of the nation's receivers who will play a full 12-game season. He and Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree in 2007 are the only Power 5 players ever with 88 catches through 8 games. 
Before getting hurt, London was on pace to break Biletnikoff Award winner Marqise Lee's 2012 USC season records in catches (118) and receiving yards (1,721). He had 5 games this season with 10 or more catches and 6 with at least 130 receiving yards.  
London is the only Trojan ever to twice have 15 or more catches in a game. He's the first Trojan with 5 consecutive 100-yard receiving outings since Lee in 2012, and he has a reception in 21 consecutive games, dating to 2019.

London is looking to be USC's second winner of the Biletnikoff Award, joining Marqise Lee, the 2012 recipient.  The Trojans have also had 5 finalists for the award:  Keyshawn Johnson in 1995, Mike Williams in 2003, Dwayne Jarrett in 2005, Robert Woods in 2011 and Michael Pittman Jr. in 2019.
Joining London as 2021 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists are:  Pittsburgh's Jordan Addison, Purdue's David Bell, Penn State's Jahan Dotson, North Carolina's Josh Downs, Ohio State's Chris Olave, Wake Forest's A.T. Perry, Western Kentucky's Jerreth Sterns, Utah State's Deven Thompkins and Alabama's Jameson Williams. 
Alabama's DeVonta Smith won the Biletnikoff Award last year.