Skip to main content

Thibodeaux Named Finalist For Nagurski Trophy

Nov 17, 2021

EUGENE, Ore. — Oregon defensive end Kayvon Thibodeaux has been selected as a finalist for the 2021 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the most outstanding defensive player in the nation.
Thibodeaux is one of three finalists for the prestigious honor, along with Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. and Georgia defensive tackle Jordan Davis. The three finalists represent the three teams currently in the top three of the College Football Playoff rankings.
Thibodeaux is the second Nagurski Trophy finalist in program history, and first since Haloti Ngata in 2005. He was the Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week following his standout performance in Oregon's win at UCLA on October 23.
The winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be chosen from these three finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the defensive player of the year who is part of the 2021 FWAA All-America Team and presented with the trophy at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet presented by LendingTree on Mon., Dec. 6 at the Charlotte Convention Center.
Kayvon Thibodeaux – Bronko Nagurski Trophy Finalist
» No. 3 in the Pac-12 with six sacks this season despite missing multiple games due to injury.
» No. 5 in the Pac-12 with 10.0 tackles for loss.
» Tied for ninth among FBS edge defenders with a 91.2 pass-rush grade by Pro Football Focus.
» Dominated at UCLA with a career-high nine tackles and 4.5 TFLs, plus two sacks and a forced fumble.
» First Duck since 2007 with at least nine tackles, four TFLs and two sacks in a game.
» First Oregon player since 2017 with at least four TFLs in a game.
» Recorded his second multi-sack game of the season with two in Oregon's win vs. WSU.
» 34 total quarterback pressures and 22 hurries, according to PFF.
» Tied for 10th in program history with 18.0 career sacks.
» 33.5 career TFLs, tied for third-most among active Power 5 players since the start of 2019.
» Walter Camp Player of the Year Semifinalist.
» Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalist.
» Two-time Pac-12 Defensive Player and Defensive Lineman of the Week.