Skip to main content

Huskies To Play VCU, North Carolina At Goombay Splash In Bahamas

Nov 23, 2021

The Matchup
The Huskies (2-1) embark on their first road trip of the season and will play in the Goombay Splash tournament on Bimini Island in the Bahamas at Gateway Christian Academy. The Huskies will face VCU (2-1) on Thanksgiving Day at noon PT and then play North Carolina (4-0) on Saturday, Nov. 27 at 9:00 a.m. PT. VCU and North Carolina will play on Friday.

VCU and UW have never faced each other.

Washington and North Carolina have played each other twice, splitting the series. UNC won last time, 90-78, on Dec. 17, 2017 in the Carolinas Challenge. The Huskies' win came in the 1988-89 season-opener, 72-60, at the Rainbow Wahine Classic on Nov. 25, 1988.

The games will be streamed on with Maura Sheridan and Dominique Patrick on the call and will be broadcast locally by Gary Hill on KKNW AM 1150.

• Quick Notes: Haley Van Dyke recorded double-doubles in each of the first two games of the season after only  two career double-doubles in her previous 83 games ... Nancy Mulkey is second among active D1 players in career blocks (343) and blocks per game (3.1) ... Tina Langley is the first Husky head coach to win their debut game since Chris Gobrecht in 1985. She joins Gobrecht and Sue Kruszewski (1980) as the only coaches to win their first two games.

• The Team: The Huskies return two starters from last season's squad, including forward Haley Van Dyke (12.0 ppg and 5.8 rpg), who earned honorable mention on both the All-Pac-12 and All-Pac-12 Defensive teams, and shooting guard Alexis Griggsby (5.7 ppg and team-high 27 3-pt makes). Other upper-classmen returners include Darcy Rees (8.3 ppg and 2.5 rpg), T.T. Watkins (opt out) and Missy Peterson (injury), plus four players who saw action as freshmen (Nia Lowery, Jess Finney, Jayda Noble and Alexis Whitfield). The Huskies will count on three transfers to provide proven experience and leadership from programs that had a high-level of success in 2021. Nancy Mulkey and Lauren Schwartz followed Langley from Rice, where they were the No. 1 and 2 scorers for the WNIT Champion Owls. Mulkey is preseason All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention and on the Lisa Leslie Watch List. Schwartz provides another deep threat with a versatile offensive arsenal. Trinity Oliver was a starting guard for Baylor and brings a winning pedigree to the Huskies' lineup. UW also welcomes in three freshmen, who also bring unique talents and potential to the table: Olivia Pollerd (Australia U-19 Silver Medalist at FIBA World Cup), Marisa Davis-Jones and Avery VanSickle. Davis-Jones was the Gatorade Arizona State Player of the Year after leading Valley Vista HS to the state title.

• Top-10 Recruiting Class Signed: Tina Langley and her staff amassed an impressive signing day class as announced on Nov. 10. She adds a trio of top-100 rated guards from California: Teagan Brown, Elle Ladine and Hannah Stines. Brown is rated 78th in the ESPNW 100 rankings after averaging 18.5 ppg, 10.3 rpg, 2.9 spg and 3.3 apg at Oak Ridge HS in El Dorado Hills, Calif. Stines is rated 39th by ESPNW and was All-CIF Southern Section, All-State First Team and San Joaquin League POY at Troy HS. Ladine is ranked 52nd by ESPN and helped Pinewood HS to the 2021 CCS Open Division Championship.

• Coach Langley (2-1 at UW/128-62 Overall, 7th season): Langley is in her first year at Washington after leading Rice through its most successful stretch in program history. She became the first Husky coach to win in their debut since UW Hall of Famer Chris Gobrecht did so in 1985. Langley was 126-61 in six seasons with the Owls, a tenure that was capped by winning the 2021 WNIT Championship. Her winning percentage of .674 is the best in program history and includes a 44-4 (.916) record in Conference USA action over the last three seasons, and a 2018-19 Conference USA Coach of the Year honor. Langley led the Owls to three-straight C-USA titles (2019, 2020, 2021) and five-straight 20-win seasons. During the last five years, the Owls have made post-season appearances in the NCAA Tournament (2019), WNIT (2018, 2021-champions) and WBI (2017-champions).