Skip to main content

Football Honors Standouts, Senior Class at Awards Banquet

Nov 28, 2021
(Photo: Don Liebig)

LOS ANGELES – The UCLA football program celebrated the season's standout performers and the accomplishments of its senior class Sunday at the 2021 Football Awards Banquet, hosted by the UCLA Meyer and Renee Luskin Conference Center.

UCLA Sports Network from Learfield sideline reporter Wayne Cook, who starred at quarterback for the Bruins from 1991-94, served as the event's master of ceremonies. Alice and Nahum Lainer Family Director of Athletics Martin Jarmond and head coach Chip Kelly spoke to the room of special invited guests and members of Kelly's staff distributed awards.

Graduate assistants Daniel Fields, Giovani Gentosi and Kodi Whitfield presented the Nick "Pac" Pasquale Memorial Award to a trio of outstanding scout-team players. Quarterback Chase Artopoeus, linebacker Adam Cohen and defensive back Joshua Swift were recognized for their abilities to provide looks to the UCLA offensive, defensive and special-teams units, respectively.

The Jackie R. Robinson Academic Excellence Award for highest grade-point average (GPA) went to tight end Hudson Habermehl, who has been named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll for possessing a GPA of 3.0 or better at the conclusion of each quarter since his enrollment – six in all.

For his work in the weight room, offensive lineman Paul Grattan, Jr. collected the Iron Bruin Award from Director of Football Performance Keith Belton. Grattan has started each of the 19 games played since he joined the Bruins as a graduate transfer from Villanova prior to the 2020 season.

Defensive back Qwuantrezz Knight was named recipient of the Jerry Long "Heart" Award. Like Grattan a starter in 19 consecutive contests, Kent State transfer Knight leads the team with 66 total tackles and 8.5 stops for negative yardage.

Ethan Fernea earned the Tommy Prothro Award as special-teams most valuable player. The sixth-year senior, who scored his first touchdown as a running back in UCLA's 62-33 win at USC, has maintained his roles on kickoff and punt coverage teams despite a mid-season injury.

Another running back, Brittain Brown, was tabbed the outstanding senior of the year with his receipt of the Kenneth S. Washington Award. He has 102 carries for 615 yards and seven touchdowns, as well as a career-high 18 receptions for 129 yards.

Running backs coach DeShaun Foster stayed on stage to deliver the Henry R. "Red" Sanders Award for most valuable player to Zach Charbonnet. In his first season with the Bruins, Charbonnet has piled up 203 rushes for 1,137 yards and 13 touchdowns – all team and career highs. He's also logged personal bests of 24 catches and 197 receiving yards.

Obi Eboh received The Ed "Coach K" Kezirian Award for his attention to academic and athletic balance. On the field, Eboh has 23 total tackles in the defensive backfield. In the classroom, the Stanford graduate continues his work in the Master of Legal Studies program at UCLA School of Law.

The final award of the day, the Bobby Field UCLA Captains Award, belonged to Eboh's unit mate, Quentin Lake. In 11 games, Lake has tied for the team lead with three interceptions and turned in 54 total stops and two tackles for loss. He picked off a pass in each of UCLA's final two regular-season contests.

Brown, Eboh, Fernea, Grattan, Knight, Lake, linebacker Mitchell Agude, offensive lineman Alec Anderson, offensive lineman Baraka Beckett, wide receiver Chase Cota, linebacker Jordan Genmark Heath, offensive lineman Lucas Gramlick, defensive lineman Odua Isibor, defensive lineman Datona Jackson, defensive back Cameron Johnson, defensive lineman Otito Ogbonnia, defensive back Mo Osling III, wide receiver Kyle Philips, linebacker Shea Pitts, defensive back Jay Shaw and quarterback Dorian Thompson-Robinson comprised the senior class honored Sunday and prior to Saturday's home win versus California.