Skip to main content

Huskies To Host NCAA Opening Rounds Dec. 3-4

Nov 28, 2021

SEATTLE – Washington Volleyball will open its 20th consecutive NCAA tournament at home in Alaska Airlines Arena, hosting the first and second rounds on Friday and Saturday, Dec. 3-4. The Huskies, as Pac-12 Champions, were given the No. 15 overall seed in the tournament and will host Ivy League Champion Brown in the first round on Friday at 7 p.m. Pacific time.
Prior to the Washington-Brown first round match, Hawaii and Mississippi State will face off at 4:30 p.m. The winners of the two matches will then meet on Saturday, Dec. 4, at 7 p.m. Pacific time in the second round.
Washington (24-4, 17-3 Pac-12) is one of four seeded teams in its region, the others including No. 2 Texas, No. 7 Kentucky, and No. 10 Nebraska. Washington, Texas, and Kentucky were all in the Final Four back in the spring, with Kentucky winning the national title. The highest remaining seed in each region after the second round earns the right to continue hosting until four teams remain, then those four will be off to Columbus, Ohio for the semis on Dec. 16 and finals on Dec. 18.
This will be Washington's 20th-consecutive NCAA tournament appearance, which is the fifth-longest active streak in the NCAA and the longest in the Pac-12. Penn State has now made all 41 tournament fields, with Nebraska next at 40. Florida is third with 31 and Hawaii has made 28 in a row, aside from the 2020 season which Hawaii did not participate in due to the pandemic.
The Huskies on Saturday clinched the outright Pac-12 title for the second-straight season and the seventh time in program history. Pac-12 runner-up UCLA was seeded 13th overall.
The Pac-12 qualified six teams to the championships. Along with the hosting Huskies and Bruins, Oregon, Stanford, Washington State, and Utah will all be going on the road for the first and second rounds.
2021 NCAA Volleyball Championship – First and Second Rounds
Seattle, Wash. | Alaska Airlines Arena
First Round, Dec. 3
Hawaii vs. Mississippi State, 4:30 p.m. PT
 (15) Washington vs. Brown, 7 p.m. PT
Second Round, Dec. 4
Winners of Dec. 3 matches, 7 p.m. PT