Skip to main content

Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Nov 30, 2021

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) have announced the 15 women's semifinalists for the 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I women's soccer coaches, with Stanford senior Naomi Girma earning a spot on the semifinalist list.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967. Most recently, Jaelin Howell (Florida State) and Gloire Amanda (Oregon State) received the award for outstanding intercollegiate performances last year.

Girma is making her second semifinalist appearance after making the list in 2019. She is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

The native of San Jose, Calif. captured her second career Pac-12 Defender of the Year award this season after helping guide Stanford to a 13-6-1 overall record that sent the Cardinal to the NCAA Tournament for the 23rd time in the last 24 years. In addition to being named the Defender of the Year, Girma landed on the all-conference first team for the second time in her career. She was also a first team selection and the Defender of the Year in 2019 after earning a spot on the third team in 2018.

A Cardinal player has claimed three of the last four MAC Hermann trophies, with Andi Sullivan taking the award in 2017, followed by Catarina Macario becoming a back-to-back winner in 2018 and 2019. Kelley O'Hara became the first Stanford player to win the MAC Hermann Trophy at the conclusion of the 2009 season. O'Hara was followed by Christen Press (2010) and Teresa Noyola (2011) to bring Stanford's total to six winners.

Highlights from this year's semifinalists list include last year's winner Jaelin Howell and her fellow Seminole Emily Madril. Rutgers also has two semifinalists this year: senior defender Gabby Provenzano and senior midfielder Frankie Tagliaferri. Making the list for the third straight year is senior midfielder Mikayla Colohan (Brigham Young).

Three women's finalists will be named for the award on Wednesday, Dec. 8 in conjunction with the Women's College Cup in Santa Clara, Calif. The 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 7, 2022 to formally announce this year's winners.

The men's semifinalists will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 7 with finalist scheduled for Dec. 15. For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit

2021 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Croix Bethune Jr. M Southern California Alpharetta, Ga.
Messiah Bright Sr. F Texas Christian Dallas, Texas
Mikayla Colohan Sr. M Brigham Young Kaysville, Utah
Michelle Cooper Fr. F Duke Clarkston, Mich.
Naomi Girma Sr. D Stanford San Jose, Calif.
Parker Goins Sr. M Arkansas Broken Arrow, Okla.
Jaelin Howell Sr. M Florida State Lone Tree, Colo.
Emily Madril Sr. D Florida State Navarre, Fla.
Alia Martin Sr. D Michigan Carmel, Ind.
Diana Ordoñez Jr. F Virginia Prosper, Texas
Ashley Orkus Sr. K Mississippi Vestavia Hills, Ala.
Gabby Provenzano Sr. D Rutgers Sergeantsville, N.J.
Frankie Tagliaferri Sr. M Rutgers Colts Neck, N.J.
Miri Taylor Sr. F Hofstra Gillingham, England
Kelsey Turnbow Sr. F Santa Clara Scottsdale, Ariz.