Skip to main content

Terry Boss and Staff Named United Soccer Coaches Far West Regional Staff of the Year

Nov 30, 2021

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Oregon State men's soccer head coach Terry Boss and his staff were tabbed 2021 Regional Staff of the Year for the Far West region, United Soccer Coaches announced on Tuesday. 

Boss, joined by associate head coaches BJ Craig and Ryan Zinkhan, and assistant coach Alex Guyer, have led the Beavers through a historic season thus far. Oregon State is 14-2-3 (7-1-2 Pac-12) and will be clashing with No. 8 seed Clemson in the program's first Elite Eight appearance in the NCAA Tournament on Saturday. This marks OSU's third NCAA Tournament appearance under Boss' direction and sixth in program history. The No. 1 seed Beavers shutout both St. John's (Nov. 21) and No. 16 New Hampshire (Nov. 28) on their journey to the Elite Eight. 

Throughout the regular season, the Beavers climbed the United Soccer Coaches' rankings, ascending to the top for their first No. 1 ranking for the program on Nov. 8. For two consecutive weeks, the Beavers also topped the NCAA Men's Soccer RPI. The Orange and Black clinched the program's first outright Pac-12 title in program history on Nov. 11, tying 2-2 with No. 3 Washington in the Pac-12's highest-rated matchup in Pac-12 history based on the United Soccer Coaches Rankings.

Nine Beavers earned All-Pac-12 accolades this season. Individually, junior Sofiane Djeffal was named Pac-12 Player of the Year, redshirt senior Tyrone Mondi earned Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year recognition, and freshman Joran Gerbet garnered Pac-12 Freshman of the Year accolades. Boss was also voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year by his peers. 

Programs that have received Regional Staff of the Year honors will be recognized at the College Coaches Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Jan. 20, 2022 at the United Soccer Coaches Convention. The Regional Staff of the Year honorees have also advanced to the ballot for United Soccer Coaches National Staff of the Year consideration within their respective NCAA divisions. Joining the Oregon State staff in the men's Division I category of honorees are the staffs from Hofstra, Georgetown, Penn State, New Hampshire, Duke, Saint Louis, and Missouri State.