Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
538 NCAA Titles & Counting

Utah's Britain Covey named Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Dec 3, 2021


SAN FRANCISCO — UTAH’s Britain Covey was named the 2021 Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their respective sports disciplines. 

Covey is the first Ute to earn the Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year award since joining the Conference. The fifth-year wide receiver from Provo, Utah completed his business degree in Summer 2021 with a 3.86 grade-point average. In November, Covey was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 First Team to be eligible for Academic All-America honors.  It was his third Academic All-District selection and he was named Academic All-America following the 2020 season.

On the field, Covey is the team's leader in receptions (44) and has returned two punts for touchdowns so far this season. He is a four-time All-Pac-12 selection, three as a returner including first team in 2018 and 2020. The school record holder in punt return yards, Covey is also in the Top 10 for both career-all-purpose yards and career receiving yards in Utah history.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Josh McCauley, Arizona; Elijah Hicks, California; Matt Lynch, Colorado; Nous Keobounnam, Oregon State; Thomas Booker, Stanford; Shea Pitts, UCLA; Nick Figueroa, USC; Jaxson Kirkland, Washington.