Skip to main content

Washington's Teves named Pac-12 Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Dec 3, 2021
Red Box Pictures


SAN FRANCISCO - WASHINGTON's Dylan Teves has been named the Pac-12 Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year for 2021, the league announced on Friday. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A business administration: finance major with a 3.69 grade-point average, Teves is the Pac-12's current scoring leader with 12 goals and 31 points heading into Washington's (16-1-2) NCAA Quarterfinal match this Saturday. He is the league-leading fifth Husky to receive the honor and first since 2011 (Brent Richards).

Powered by Teves' back-to-back hat tricks in the first two matches this postseason, the Huskies are a quarterfinal victory over Saint Louis away from making their first-ever NCAA College Cup appearance. Teves' six goals so far this postseason are tied for the second-most in a single NCAA Tournament and one shy of the record of seven set by Appalachian State's Thompson Usiyan in 1978.

A candidate for the 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy, the midfielder from Kailua, Hawai'i earned his second Pac-12 First Team All-Conference honors this fall, along with being named Pac-12 Player of the Week (11/8) and to a trio of National Teams of the Week (11/9, 11/23, 11/30). He was a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy and a First Team All-American for the 2020 season during which he finished third in the Pac-12 with seven goals and 19 points. He has climbed to seventh in Conference history with 72 points, and is tied for 10th all-time with 25 goals and 22 assists.

Teves was named a First Team Scholar All-American by the United Soccer Coaches for the 2020 season, and has twice been named to the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll. He is also on the ballot for 2021 CoSIDA Academic All-America honors after being selected to the All-District 8 First Team on Nov. 11.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.