Skip to main content

2021 Team Honors

Dec 5, 2021

STANFORD, California – Sophomore Tanner McKee was awarded the Irving S. Zeimer Award as the team's most valuable player as the team's most valuable player for the 2021 season,  while Michael Wilson's leadership and respect from his teammates earned him the Al Masters Award at the Stanford football end-of-season banquet on Sunday at Traitel Hall at the Hoover Institution.
Irving S. Zeimer Award - Tanner McKee
Awarded to the Team MVP
Became only the third freshman quarterback in school history to pass for 2,000 yards, while his 19 total touchdowns set a freshman school record.
Al Masters Award - Michael Wilson
Awarded to the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates
Tommy Vardell Award - Kendall Williamson
Awarded to the junior or senior player who best epitomizes excellence in both academics and athletics
A CoSIDA Academic All-District recipient in 2020 and two-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll honoree, Williamson made 66 tackles with a sack and seven pass breakups.
Jack Huston Award - Tucker Fisk
Awarded to the player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance, and unheralded efforts
The first Stanford player to start on both sides of the ball in the same game since 2012, Fisk started at defensive end and tight end this season. He made 15 tackles and two sacks, while also seeing time on special teams.
Jim Reynolds Award - Michael Wilson
Awarded to the senior player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all
Despite missing all of fall camp and the first eight games of the season, Wilson gained the respect and admiration of his teammates to be voted as a team captain. He returned for the final four games of the season, making 19 receptions for 185 yards.
Outstanding Senior Award- Thomas Booker and Houston Heimuli
A team captain, Booker started all 12 games along the defensive line. He finished fifth on the team with 59 tackles, a single-season high, with 5.0 TFLs and six QB hurries. He also blocked a PAT at Washington State - the third of his career.
Also a team captain, Heimuli appeared in all 12 games at fullback. He made one reception for 11 yards, and he was a regular contributor on special teams. 

Gundelach Award - Kyu Blu Kelly
Awarded to the most outstanding junior player
One of the top cornerbacks in the country, Kelly led the Pac-12 with 13 pass defenses - two interceptions, 11 pass breakups. He returned an interception 31 yards for a touchdown in an upset win at No. 14 USC.
Deswarte-Eller Award - Benjamin Yurosek
Awarded to the most outstanding sophomore player
Led the team with 658 receiving yards off 42 receptions and three touchdowns. His 15.3 yards per reception and 13 receptions of 20+ yards rank among the top five of all Power 5 tight ends. 
Outstanding Freshman Award - Jimmy Wyrick
Awarded to the most outstanding freshman player
Wyrick started six games at nickelback while making 11 appearances as a true freshman. He made 25 tackles with seven pass defenses, including his first career interception at Vanderbilt.
Phil Moffatt Awards - Joshua Karty and Nathaniel Peat
Awarded to the top two most outstanding special teams performers
In his first season as the primary kick, Karty scored 57 points, going 27-for-27 on PATs. He was 10-for-15 on field goals, with four of his misses being from over 50 yards. Karty also had 33 touchbacks as the kickoff specialist.
A dynamic returner, Peat average 24.6 yards per return on kickoffs, and ended the season with 663 yards on kickoff returns. 
Team Technician Award - Jonathan McGill
Awarded to the player demonstrating a positive attitude and a consistent commitment to strength and conditioning
A preseason injury held McGill out for the majority of the season. But his impact was felt each day on the practice field and on the sidelines with McGill taking on a mentorship role prior to returning to the field for the final two games of the season. 
The Billy Anderson Commitment to Community Outreach Award (Offense) - Isaiah Sanders
Awarded to the offensive player who demonstrates a special commitment to community outreach.
A finalist for the prestigious Wuerffel Trophy, given to the college football player who "best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement." Sanders took part in several community outreach programs in East Palo Alto.
The Chris Draft Commitment to Community Outreach Award (Defense) - Jason Kaul
Awarded to the defensive player who demonstrates a special commitment to community outreach.
During his three seasons in the program, Kaul has continuously volunteered for nearly every community outreach event available to him.
Frank Rehm Awards - Benjamin Yurosek (offense), Jonathan McGill (defense)
Awarded to the most outstanding players in the Big Game
Greg Piers Awards – Logan Berzins (offense), Ese Dubre (defense), David Kasemervisz (special teams)
Awarded to the most outstanding special teams, offensive, and defensive scout team players