Skip to main content

Huskies-Redhawks Will Battle In Seattle

Dec 8, 2021

The Huskies (2-3) return to action on Friday, Dec. 10 at 6:00 p.m. against Seattle U (4-3) at Redhawk Center. It marks Washington's first game in 13 days as they last played at the Goombay Splash in the Bahamas on Nov. 27 vs. North Carolina.

The Huskies have won 15 straight games versus the Redhawks and hold a 19-3 overall series advantage. The last time the teams met, UW won 73-46 on Nov. 23, 2019. Haley Van Dyke recorded her first career double-double with 14 points and 12 rebounds. The last time the two teams played at Redhawk Center was Nov. 30, 2018, a game in which the Huskies won 69-58 and Missy Peterson scored a then career-high 18 points. Seattle U's last win in the series was 71-68 on Jan. 17, 1981 at Hec Edmundson Pavilion.

The game will be streamed on ESPN+ with Russell Brown and Mazvita Maraire on the call, and will be broadcast locally over the airwaves by Gary Hill on 1090 AM KJR.

Fans are encouraged to bring any unused toys to Friday's game for a toy drive that benefits Seattle Children's Hospital. For more information or to bring a toy that is on the wishlist, visit here.

• Notable: Haley Van Dyke has recorded three double-doubles in five games after only  two career double-doubles in her first 83 games ... Nancy Mulkey is second among active D1 players in career blocks (352) and blocks per game (3.1) ... Mulkey has 24 blocks in the first five games. That total is already more than what the season leader had in 22 different years of Husky history. She is averaging 4.8 blocks per game, with the previous record being 2.4 (school record 74 total) by Liz Chicane in 1980-81 ... Thanks to Mulkey, the Huskies are averaging 6.2 blocks per game as a team. The previous record -- and only mark above 4.0 per game is 4.5 in 1980-81 ... Tina Langley is the first Husky head coach to win their debut game since Chris Gobrecht in 1985. She joins Gobrecht and Sue Kruszewski (1980) as the only coaches to win their first two games. 

• Coach Langley (2-3 at UW/128-64 Overall, 7th season): Langley is in her first year at Washington after leading Rice through its most successful stretch in program history. She became the first Husky coach to win in their debut since UW Hall of Famer Chris Gobrecht did so in 1985. Langley was 126-61 in six seasons with the Owls, a tenure that was capped by winning the 2021 WNIT Championship. Her winning percentage of .674 is the best in program history and includes a 44-4 (.916) record in Conference USA action over the last three seasons, and a 2018-19 Conference USA Coach of the Year honor. Langley led the Owls to three-straight C-USA titles (2019, 2020, 2021) and five-straight 20-win seasons. During the last five years, the Owls have made post-season appearances in the NCAA Tournament (2019), WNIT (2018, 2021-champions) and WBI (2017-champions). 

• The Team: The Huskies return two starters from last season's squad, including forward Haley Van Dyke (12.0 ppg and 5.8 rpg), who earned honorable mention on both the All-Pac-12 and All-Pac-12 Defensive teams, and shooting guard Alexis Griggsby (5.7 ppg and team-high 27 3-pt makes). Other upper-classmen returners include Darcy Rees (8.3 ppg and 2.5 rpg), T.T. Watkins (opt out) and Missy Peterson (injury), plus four players who saw action as freshmen (Nia Lowery, Jess Finney, Jayda Noble and Alexis Whitfield). The Huskies will count on three transfers to provide proven experience and leadership from programs that had a high-level of success in 2021. Nancy Mulkey and Lauren Schwartz followed Langley from Rice, where they were the No. 1 and 2 scorers for the WNIT Champion Owls. Mulkey is preseason All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention and on the Lisa Leslie Watch List. Schwartz provides another deep threat with a versatile offensive arsenal. Trinity Oliver was a starting guard for Baylor and brings a winning pedigree to the Huskies' lineup. UW also welcomes in three freshmen, who also bring unique talents and potential to the table: Olivia Pollerd (Australia U-19 Silver Medalist at FIBA World Cup), Marisa Davis-Jones and Avery VanSickle. Davis-Jones was the Gatorade Arizona State Player of the Year after leading Valley Vista HS to the state title.