Skip to main content

USC’s Peter Daland, Mark Schubert and Dave Salo Selected to CSCAA's 100 Greatest Coaches List

Dec 8, 2021

The College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America announced Wednesday (Dec. 8) its 100 Greatest Coaches, with USC landing Trojan Coaches Peter Daland, Mark Schubert and Dave Salo to the prestigious list spanning more than 100 years. 

The CSCAA's 100 Greatest Coaches list aimed to recognize the most successful and pioneering swimming and diving coaches. Just over 500 coaches were nominated. A blue ribbon committee of fifty eight voters selected from 263 finalists, each focusing on a particular sport (swimming or diving) and Division. A steering committee consisting of Anne Goodman James, Peter Hovland, Bob Groseth, and Jon Lederhouse then vetted and finalized the selections.

Joining Daland, Schubert and Salo on the list is current Trojan Swim Coach Lea Maurer, who previously served as the Stanford women's head coach. Her Cardinal swim teams, which peaked with an NCAA runner-up finish in 2010, secured 13 NCAA individual and relay titles, 37 conference championships and 163 All-American honors while going 66-5 in dual meets.

Joining Maurer on the list are three Trojan alumni, Teri McKeever (Cal women's swim, Fresno State) , Mike Bottom (Michigan) and Ray Looze (Indiana) who were named to the list for their leadership and program accomplishments. 

Dave Salo - 2007-2020 (USC men's and women's swimming)
Salo spent 14 seasons leading the Trojans, producing over 150 All-Americans (89 women's, 76 men's), winning a combined 22 NCAA individual and six relay titles, and amassing a dual record of 162-71-1 (90-31 women's / 72-40 men's).  His 2015 men's team won the program's first Pac-12 championship since 1979 and the 2016 women's team won that program's first-ever Pac-12 title as he was named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year. 
Mark Schubert -1993-2006 (USC men's and women's swimming)
One of the United States' most recognizable and successful coaches of all-time, Mark Schubert led USC to a combined 30 NCAA individual titles, including 12 men's and 18 women's titles that contributed to NCAA and Pac-10 Coach of the Year Honors. With Schubert at the helm, USC produced 179 All-Americans, 76 Pac-10 individual and relay titles and had records of 77-35 (men) and 75-34-1 (women).  
Peter Daland - 1958-1992 (USC men's swimming team)
Daland became one of the most respected collegiate swim coaches in history, leading USC to 9 NCAA team titles, 93 individual and relay titles, 15 AAU titles and an unparalleled dual meet record of 318-31-1 (.917) in 35 seasons. His teams enjoyed tremendous success at the conference level as well, winning the league title 17 times and capturing 155 Pac-10 individual and relay titles, contributing to Daland's six national Coach of the Year awards.  

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), is the nation's first organization of college coaches. The mission of the CSCAA is to advance the sport of swimming and diving with coaches at the epicenter of leadership, advocacy, and professional development.

The CSCAA100 list of Greatest College Swimming and Diving Coaches is listed below in alphabetical order. For profiles on each selection visit