Skip to main content

Stanford's Campbell named Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Dec 9, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – Stanford's Holly Campbell has been named the Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2021 season. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

An economics major with a 3.87 GPA, Campbell is a two-time NCAA and Pac-12 champion (2018, 2019) and three-year starter for the Cardinal. A Pac-12 All-Freshman Team selection in 2018, she was a two-time Pac-12 Freshman of the Week that season and was a 2021 CoSIDA Academic All-District pick this year after missing last season due to injury. She also has twice been named to the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll.

Campbell spent time as an analyst on the Sustainable Investing Solutions team with UBS during the summer of 2021, creating educational pieces on sustainable investing for financial advisors and performing data analysis on UBS's sustainable product offering to find any gaps in the product shelf. The previous summer, she served as an analyst at Anacapa Partners, a search-fund based private equity firm where she researched potential investment opportunities and generated industry-focused analyses to present to the investment team. Also a member of the Stanford Women in Finance Club, which educates women on how to break into the financial industry, Campbell will be working at BCG (Boston Consulting Group) in Austin, Texas following her graduation in June.

Campbell is the fourth consecutive Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year from Stanford, following Meghan McClure (2020), Morgan Hentz (2019) and Tami Alade (2018).

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Taylor Borup, ORE; Candice Denny, USC; Jenna Ewert, COLO; Grace Massey, OSU; Mac May, UCLA; Madelyn Robinson, UTAH; Penny Tusa, WSU; Merle Weidt, ARIZ.