Skip to main content

13 Utes Earn AP All-Pac-12 Honors, Whittingham Voted Unanimous Coach of the Year

Dec 10, 2021

SALT LAKE CITY- A total of 13 Utah football players were named to the 2021 AP All-Pac-12 teams, as announced on Friday by the Associated Press. Junior linebacker Devin Lloyd and head coach Kyle Whittingham took home two of the four top awards. Lloyd was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and Whittingham was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year, in unanimous Fashion.

Lloyd collects the awards after having an incredible season. Lloyd ranks second in the FBS and first in the Pac-12 in tackles for loss (22.0), also ranking in the top five in the league in sacks (8.0) and total tackles (106). Lloyd also ties for the lead among linebackers in the FBS in total interceptions (4) and is one of just two linebackers nationally that have scored multiple pick-sixes this season. Additionally, Lloyd is the only players in the FBS to have more that 20 tackles for loss and four or more interceptions.

Whittingham became Utah's all-time wins leader this season (144-69) and lead the Utes to their first ever Pac-12 Championship, since joining the league back in 2011. In 2021, Whittingham guided the Utes to a 10-3 overall record, going 8-1 in conference play, winning the Pac-12 South and eventually the Pac-12 Championship game. It is the sixth 10+ win season under Whittingham and has led Utah to three Pac-12 South titles in the last four years. Three days ago, Whittingham was formally named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Utah was well represented on both sides of the ball with seven players being named first-team offense and defense. Sophomore running back Tavion Thomas, offensive linemen Braeden Daniels and Nick Ford, and junior Britain Covey were all tabbed on the first-team offense while defensive end Mika Tafua and junior linebacker Lloyd and Nephi Sewell earned first-team defense.

The Utes also had six players land on the second-team, including quarterback Cameron Rising, offensive guard Sataoa Laumea, tight end Brant Kuithe, defensive tackle Junior Tafuna, cornerback Clark Phillips III and senior safety Vonte Davis. Utah led the Pac-12 with 13 honorees with UCLA coming in second with nine.

Five players are repeat AP All-Pac-12 selections, including Lloyd (2x first-team), Ford (second), Tafua (second), Kuithe (second) and Covey (third).

For quick hits on Utah's all-conference selections click here.

Team Breakdown 

Utah 13
Oregon 7
Washington State 5
Washington 4
Oregon State 4
Arizona State 2
Arizona 2
California  2
Colorado  1