Skip to main content

Beavers Top UNI, Complete Sweep on Maui

Dec 19, 2021

Lahaina, Hawai'i – The Oregon State women's basketball team completed a sweep of the Maui Jim Maui Classic on Sunday, as the Beavers took down Northern Iowa 70-59 in Lahaina, Hawai'i.
"Northern Iowa is a great program used to winning, and we knew they weren't going to be phased," said Oregon State head coach Scott Rueck. "I was really pleased with our first half today. I loved the energy we came out with, I thought especially our defensive energy we excellent. Overall I loved our effort today."
Talia von Oelhoffen led the Beavers with 14 points and six assists, while Taylor Jones finished with 14 points and nine rebounds. Greta Kampschroeder had another big game, going for 13 points, four rebounds and two blocks.
Kennedy Brown ended her day with eight points and five rebounds, and Ellie Mack finished with six points and seven rebounds.
Kampschroeder was named the event's Most Outstanding Player, while von Oelhoffen and Jones also earned spots on the All-Tournament Team.
As a team, Oregon State shot 46 percent from the floor and held a 40-22 advantage on points in the paint.
The Beavers were able to find success near the basket early on, as Oregon State jumped in front 11-7 at the game's first media timeout. After a quarter of play, the Beavers led 20-13 behind nine points from von Oelhoffen.
Oregon State extended the lead to 17 in the middle part of the second quarter, on its way to a 38-24 halftime lead.
Von Oelhoffen headed to the intermission with 11 points.
The Panthers battled back, cutting the lead to single digits in the third. Oregon State headed to the closing frame up 49-38.
UNI got within seven early in the fourth, but the Beavers held on to take the win by 11.
OSU hosted the Maui Jim Maui Classic for the fifth time.
The Beavers will return home Dec. 28 for its final nonconference game of the regular season, as Oregon State faces North Carolina Central at Gill Coliseum.
Maui Jim Maui Classic All-Tournament Team
Greta Kampschroeder – Oregon State*
Talia von Oelhoffen – Oregon State
Taylor Jones – Oregon State
Karli Rucker – Northern Iowa
Allison Kirby – Idaho
*Most Outstanding Player
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).