Skip to main content

Pair of Bruins Named to OTB Pre-Season All-A MVB Team

Dec 20, 2021
Cole Ketrzynski (3) and Merrick McHenry (13) earn pre-season honors.

Opposite / outside hitter Cole Ketrzynski and middle blocker Merrick McHenry were each selected to the 2022 Off the Block Preseason All-America Team which was announced on Monday.

UCLA was one of six schools which had multiple players on the teams. Ketrzynski, a first-team selection, ranked seventh nationally in service aces per set (0.485) and was eighth in the NCAA in points per set (4.78). McHenry, who was named to the second team, ranked 12th in the nation in hitting percentage (.423) and was 18th nationally in blocks per set (1.02).

The nationwide voting committee was comprised of about 20 NCAA Division I-II men's volleyball head coaches and men's volleyball media members from around the nation. The 10 players receiving the most votes were named to the first team, while the next top 10 vote-getters were selected to the second team. Two additional players made the second team as a result of a tie in the voting. Voters were required to place at least one setter, one opposite, one outside attacker, one middle attacker, and one libero on each of their ballots.

UCLA, which will host the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship in Pauley Pavilion presented by Wescom in May, is scheduled to open the 2022 season on Jan. 6 at the UC Santa Barbara Tournament.
Off the Block Preseason First-Team
Setter: Cole Bogner, Penn State
Setter: Kevin Kauling, Lewis
Opposite: Cal Fisher, Penn State
Opposite: Cole Ketrzynski, UCLA
Outside attacker: Davide Gardini, BYU
Outside attacker: Camden Gianni, Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: Brett Wildman, Penn State
Middle attacker: Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
Middle attacker: Austin Wilmot, Pepperdine
Libero: Mason Briggs, Long Beach State
Setter: Jakob Thelle, Hawai'i
Setter: Bryce Dvorak, Pepperdine
Setter: Garrett Zolg, Loyola
Outside attacker: Tobi Azeez, Mount Olive
Outside attacker: Spencer Olivier, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Kyle McCauley, UC San Diego
Outside attacker: Sotiris Siapanis, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Cole Schlothauer, Loyola
Outside attacker: Spencer Wickens, Pepperdine
Outside attacker: Ryan Wilcox, UC Santa Barbara
Middle attacker: Merrick McHenry, UCLA
Libero: Trey Cole, Pepperdine