Skip to main content

Drake London Named USC Football's 2021 Most Valuable Player

Dec 21, 2021

LOS ANGELES — USC junior wide receiver Drake London has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2021 Trojan football team.

London, who was the 2021 Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year despite playing in just the first 8 games of the season before being sidelined with an injury, also was USC's Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year and a team captain.

He had 88 receptions for 1,084 yards with 7 TDs in just 7.5 games this season. He was a semifinalist for the 2021 Biletnikoff Award and Maxwell Award. He was on pace to break Biletnikoff Award winner Lee's 2012 USC season records in catches (118) and receiving yards (1,721). He had 5 games this season with 10 or more catches and 6 with at least 130 receiving yards. He and Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree in 2007 are the only Power 5 players with 88 catches through 8 games.

Senior tailback Vavae Malepeai was USC's Most Inspirational Player and a team captain. Redshirt freshman safety Xavion Alford and true freshman safety Calen Bullock were Defensive Perimeter Players of the Year, senior offensive lineman Andrew Vorhees and sophomore defensive lineman Tuli Tuipulotu were Linemen of the Year and junior punter Ben Griffiths was Special Teams Player of the Year. Tuipulotu also won the Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character), while Griffiths also was a team captain.

A complete list of the awards:

Mike McKeever Memorial Most Valuable Player: wide receiver Drake London

Davis-Teschke Most Inspirational Player: tailback Vavae Malepeai

Rhett Ellison Trojan Way Leadership Award: inside linebacker Kana'i Mauga

Dr. Arthur C. Bartner Trojan Commitment Award: tight end Erik Krommenhoek

John Dye Memorial Linemen of the Year: offensive lineman Andrew Vorhees (offense), defensive lineman Tuli Tuipulotu (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver Drake London (offense), safeties Xavion Alford and Calen Bullock (defense)

Mario Danelo Special Teams Player of the Year: punter Ben Griffiths

Service Team Players of the Year: tight end Kohl Hollinquest and tailback Samuel Oram-Jones (offense), safeties Anthony Beavers Jr. and Tommy Maurice (defense)

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): defensive lineman Nick Figueroa

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): defensive lineman Tuli Tuipulotu

John McKay Award (player with the most competitive spirit): offensive linemen Brett Neilon and Liam Jimmons

Joe Collins Walk-On Award: inside linebacker Clyde Moore

Chris Carlisle Courage Award: defensive lineman Jacob Lichtenstein

Jack Oakie "Rise and Shine" Award (toughest runner): tailback Keaontay Ingram

Community Service Award: quarterback Mo Hasan

Lifters Award: offensive lineman Justin Dedich, defensive lineman Nick Figueroa

Captains: punter Ben Griffiths, wide receiver Drake London, tailback Vavae Malepeai, safety Isaiah Pola-Mao