Skip to main content

Osborne Named to Wooden Award Midseason Top 25

Jan 5, 2022
Junior guard Charisma Osborne

LOS ANGELES – Charisma Osborne has been named to the midseason top 25 watch list for the John R. Wooden Award, as announced by the Los Angeles Athletic Club earlier this afternoon on ESPNU. A poll of national college basketball experts presents will ultimately select the nation's top collegiate player following the 2022 NCAA Tournament.
Osborne is currently second in the Pac-12 in scoring at 19.6 points per game. She has tallied at least 20 points in three games this season, including a 26-point effort in the Bruins' matchup against UConn on Dec. 11. Osborne also drained a career-high eight three-pointers against the Huskies. The Moreno Valley, Calif., native also has a double-double to her credit this season, putting up 19 points and 11 rebounds in UCLA's win over St. John's at the Gulf Coast Showcase (Nov. 28).
Osborne and the Bruins are back in action on Sunday, Jan. 9 to take on Colorado in Boulder. UCLA is currently 5-3 on the season and looking for a victory in its first Pac-12 matchup of the season.
John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 25
Shakira Austin, Ole Miss
Kierstan Bell, Florida Gulf Coast
Aliyah Boston, South Carolina
Cameron Brink, Stanford
Paige Bueckers, UConn
Caitlin Clark, Iowa
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Lorela Cubaj
Elissa Cunane, NC State
Destanni Henderson, South Carolina
Naz Hillmon, Michigan
Makenzie Holmes, Indiana
Rhyne Howard, Kentucky
Rickea Jackson, Mississippi State
Ashley Joens, Iowa State
Haley Jones, Stanford
Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech
Ayoka Lee, Kansas State
Aneesah Morrow, DePaul
Charisma Osborne, UCLA
Ashley Owusu, Maryland
Angel Reese, Maryland
NaLyssa Smith, Baylor
Jenna Staiti, Georgia
Maddy Westbeld, Notre Dame
About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball recognizing the Wooden Award Most Outstanding Player for men and women, the Wooden Award All American Teams for men and women and the annual selection of the Wooden Award Legends of Coaching recipient. Honorees have proven to their university that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including making progress towards graduation and maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Kevin Durant ('07), Candace Parker ('07; '08), Maya Moore ('09; '11), Chiney Ogwumike ('14), Breanna Stewart ('15 and '16) and last year's recipients, Paige Bueckers of Connecticut and Luka Garza of Iowa.