Skip to main content

Bears Place Nine On MPSF All-Academic Team

Jan 6, 2022
Senior Miles O'Brien-Schridde was named to the MPSF All-Academic Team for the third time in his career.

The 2021 NCAA-champion Cal men's water polo team placed nine student-athletes on the MPSF All-Academic Team that was revealed Thursday.

Graduate student Nikos Delagrammatikas as well as seniors Miles O'Brien-Schridde and Marko Valecic each received his third career honor while juniors Jake Stone, Nikolaos Papanikolaou, Warren Loth and Adrian Weinberg were named to the team for the second time. Senior Mateus Stellet and junior Garrett Dunn each earned his first conference all-academic nod.

To be eligible for the honor, student-athletes need at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average, must be at least a sophomore academically and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competitions. Freshmen and first-year transfers are ineligible.

Papanikolaou, Delagrammatikas, Weinberg and O'Brien-Schridde were each named to the 2021 All-MPSF Team as well. Papanikolaou was also named the ACWPC National Player of the Year and repeated as MPSF Player of the Year. Weinberg was also named a Second Team All-American while Delagrammatikas was selected to the Third Team.

The Golden Bears culminated the 2021 season by winning the 15th NCAA championship in program history, defeating USC in the finals.