Skip to main content

Cal Dominates Friday In Honolulu

Jan 7, 2022
Cami Brown improved to 2-0 in singles in Hawaii.

HONOLULU – The Cal women's tennis team went unbeaten on Friday in the Weinman Foundation Invitational, winning all of its matches in the University of Hawaii's annual tournament.
The Golden Bears were 9-0 in singles, with wins including Cal star Haley Giavara beating Washington State's Savanna Ly-Nguyen, 6-3, 1-6, 6-2, the 108th-ranked Valentina Ivanov defeating Hawaii's Tal Talya Zandberg, 6-0, 6-0, and the 110th-ranked Jessica Alsola topping WSU's Maxine Murphy, 6-2, 7-5.
The 27th-ranked team of Erin Richardson and Jessica Alsola beat the Cougars' Nguyen and Michaela Bayerlova, 8-5, to lead Cal to a 3-0 mark in doubles.
The Weinman Foundation Invitational ends on Saturday.
Weinman Foundation Invitational – Day 2
Jan. 7, 2022, at Honolulu, Hawaii
UH Tennis Complex
Katja Wiersholm (Cal) def. Ana Vilcek (Hawaii) 5-0, retired
Julia Rosenqvist (Cal) def. Gitte Heynemans (Hawaii) 6-2, 6-1
Hannah Viller Moeller (Cal) def. Nidhi Surapaneni (Hawaii) 6-1, 6-0
No. 108 Valentina Ivanov (Cal) def. Tal Talya Zandberg (Hawaii) 6-0, 6-0
Cami Brown (Cal) def. Avery Williams (Hawaii) 6-3, 7-6, 7-5
Lea Romain (Hawaii) def. Fifa Kumhom (Washington State) 6-2, 7-5
Michaela Bayerlova (Washington State) def. Satsuki Takamura (Hawaii) 6-2, 6-3
Haley Giavara (Cal) def. Savanna Ly-Nguyen (Washington State) 6-3, 1-6, 6-2
No. 110 Jessica Alsola (Cal) def. Maxine Murphy (Washington State) 6-2, 7-5
Makenna Thiel (Cal) def. Elyse Tse (Washington State) 7-5, 6-0
Erin Richardson (Cal) def. Stefaniia Mikhailova (Washington State) 7-5, 6-2
Yang Lee/Fifa Kumhom (Washington State) def. Gitte Heynemans/Lea Romain (Hawaii) 8-3
Elyse Tse/Maxine Murphy (Washington State) def. Tal Talya Zandberg/Ana Vilcek (Hawaii) 8-6
Haley Giavara/Valentina Ivanov (Cal) def. Nidhi Surapaneni/Satsuki Takamura (Hawaii) 8-1
Makenna Thiel/Hannah Viller Moeller (Cal) def. Cami Brown/Avery Williams (Cal/Hawaii) 8-2
No. 27 Jessica Alsola/Erin Richardson (Cal) def. Michaela Bayerlova/Savanna Ly-Nguyen (Washington State) 8-5
Julia Rosenqvist/Katja Wiersholm (Cal) def. Hania Abouelsaad/Stefaniia Mikhailova (Washington State) 8-2