Skip to main content

First Ballot Hall Of Famer

Jan 10, 2022

IRVING, Texas – Legendary Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck has been selected as a member of the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class. The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame made the announcement Monday afternoon on ESPN.
One of the most precise passers in college football history, Luck put together a record-setting career at Stanford that saw him claim numerous national awards and honors. A native of Houston, Texas, Luck becomes the 19th Cardinal player to join the College Football Hall of Fame.
"I'm so honored to be a member of the Class of 2022 College Football Hall of Fame," Luck said. "I have to say a big thank you to everyone at Stanford, especially my coaches, teammates and wife."
Luck guided Stanford to 23 victories over his final two seasons, including appearances in the 2011 Orange Bowl and 2012 Fiesta Bowl. He won the 2011 Maxwell, Walter Camp and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm awards and was a two-time runner-up (2010, 2011) for the Heisman Trophy.
"Andrew Luck embodies the word excellence because he pursues excellence in everything," Bradford M. Freeman Director of Football David Shaw said. "Excellence in education - he's an Academic All-American. Excellence in leadership - he was a great teammate before he was a great leader and remained a great teammate while he was a great leader. Excellence as a quarterback - he was the best of his generation and is still a measuring stick for all quarterbacks who have come after him. Most importantly, excellence in character - Andrew strives every day to be the best person he can be."
A 2011 First Team All-American and two-time conference Offensive Player of the Year, Luck rewrote the Stanford and conference record books. In total, Luck went 31-7 as a starter, resurrecting a Stanford program that had suffered seven-straight losing seasons before he became the starter in 2009. He passed for 9,430 yards and 82 touchdowns during his Cardinal career, adding 957 yards and seven more touchdowns on the ground.
"On behalf of the Stanford Athletics community, I want to express how proud we are of Andrew Luck on his selection as a member of the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022," Jaquish & Kenninger Director of Athletics Bernard Muir said. "Andrew accomplished so much both on and off the field during his time at Stanford and is a very deserving first-ballot inductee. We look forward to honoring him throughout 2022 before he is officially inducted next December."
Luck led the conference in multiple categories during his stellar 2011 campaign, including completion percentage (71.3) and passing efficiency (169.7). The two-time First Team All-Pac-12 selection is Stanford's all-time leader in career passing touchdowns (82) and passing efficiency (162.8). Ranking second in Cardinal history with 9,430 career passing yards, Luck owns two of the top four passing seasons in school history: 3,517 yards in 2011 and 3,338 in 2010. His .670 career completion percentage is the best in Stanford annals, as are his single-season completion percentages in 2010 (.707) and 2011 (.713). His 37 touchdown passes in 2011 are a single-season school record, followed by his 32 touchdown passes in 2010. Luck presided over three of the most prolific offensive teams in Stanford history, helping the Cardinal to scoring records in 2009 (461), 2010 (524) and 2011 (561).
Off the field, Luck excelled in the classroom and was named the 2011 Academic All-American of the Year. He was also a three-time First Team Academic All-Pac-12 honoree and a member of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society.
The first overall pick in the 2012 NFL Draft, Luck spent his entire seven-year career with the Indianapolis Colts from 2012-18. The four-time Pro Bowler was named the 2018 Comeback Player of the Year, and he owns the NFL rookie record for passing yards (4,373). During his seven-year career, Luck passed for 23,671 yards and 171 touchdowns.
Luck is involved with several philanthropic pursuits, including Riley Children's Foundation and the Andrew Luck Book Club. He was previously honored by the NFF in 2008 as an NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete. Luck, who retired from the NFL at 29, now lives in Indianapolis with his family.
The 18 First Team All-America players and three standout coaches in the 2022 Class were selected from the national ballot of 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision, the 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks and the NFF Veterans Committee candidates.
"We are extremely proud to announce the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."
The 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6.
The inductees will also be recognized at their respective collegiate institutions with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the fall. Their accomplishments will be forever immortalized at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and each inductee will receive a custom ring created by Jostens, the official and exclusive supplier of NFF rings.

  • LaVar Arrington – LB, Penn State (1997-99)
  • Champ Bailey – DB, Georgia (1996-98)
  • Michael Crabtree – WR, Texas Tech (2007-08)
  • Sylvester Croom – C, Alabama (1972-74)
  • Mike Doss – S, Ohio State (1999-2002)
  • Chuck Ealey – QB, Toledo (1969-71)
  • Kevin Faulk – AP/RB, LSU (1995-98)
  • Moe Gardner – DT, Illinois (1987-90)
  • Boomer Grigsby – LB, Illinois State (2001-04)
  • Mike Hass – WR, Oregon State (2002-05)
  • Marvin Jones – LB, Florida State (1990-92)
  • Andrew Luck – QB, Stanford (2009-11)
  • Mark Messner – DT, Michigan (1985-88)
  • Terry Miller – RB, Oklahoma State (1974-77)
  • Rashaan Salaam – RB, Colorado (1992-94)
  • Dennis Thomas – C, Alcorn State (1971-73)
  • Zach Wiegert – OT, Nebraska (1991-94)
  • Roy Williams – DB, Oklahoma (1999-2001)


  • John Luckhardt – 225-70-2 (76.1%); Washington & Jefferson [PA] (1982-98), California [PA] (2002-11)
  • Billy Jack Murphy – 91-44-1 (67.3%); Memphis (1958-71)
  • Gary Pinkel – 191-110-3 (63.3%); Toledo (1991-2000), Missouri (2001-15)


Stanford Players in the College Football Hall of Fame (19)

Player Induction Year Position Years
Ernie Nevers 1951 FB 1923-25
Bobby Grayson 1955 FB 1933-35
Frank Albert 1956 QB 1939-41
Bill Corbus 1957 G 1931-33
Bob Reynolds 1961 T 1933-35
Bones Hamilton 1972 HB 1933-35
Bill McColl 1973 E 1949-51
Hugh Gallarneau 1982 FB 1938-40
Chuck Taylor 1984 G 1940-42
Monk Moscrip 1985 RB 1933-35
John Brodie 1986 QB 1954-56
Jim Plunkett 1990 QB 1968-70
Chris Burford 1995 E 1956-59
John Elway 2000 QB 1979-82
Paul Wiggin 2005 DT 1953-55
Jeff Siemon 2006 LB 1969-71
Ken Margerum 2009 WR 1977-80
Darrin Nelson 2014 HB 1977-78, 1980-81
Andrew Luck 2022 QB 2009-11