Skip to main content

USC’s Tina Thompson Earns NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Jan 11, 2022

USC women's basketball star Tina Thompson has become the 15th Trojan to earn the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award, a recognition of collegiate and professional achievements to standout athletes on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their collegiate careers. A 1997 USC graduate, Thompson followed up her impressive career as a Trojan with WNBA championships and Olympic gold medals.

A forward for the Women of Troy, Thompson was a 1997 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-American and an Associated Press second-team All-American. She helped USC to three NCAA tournament appearances, including an Elite Eight appearance in 1994. Thompson is still second in school history for points in a game (49) and ranks fifth in career points (2,248) and rebounds (1,168). 

In 1997, Thompson became the first college player ever drafted in the WNBA, and she went on to be a four-time WNBA champion with the Houston Comets. A three-time first-team All-WNBA selection and five-time second-team All-WNBA honoree, she garnered nine WNBA All-Star appearances in her career. Thompson retired from the Seattle Storm as the WNBA's all-time leading scorer (7,488) in 496 games. She earned gold medals with Team USA at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games. 

Thompson was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2018. She helped coach Texas to a quarterfinal appearance in the NCAA tournament in 2016 and third-round appearances in 2017 and 2018. Thompson received the Triumph Award from the Rev. Al Sharpton's National Action Network in recognition of her work in sports and the community. She helped organize the For The City charity basketball game to provide high-quality, low-cost sports opportunities for underserved youth in Los Angeles. Thompson has advocated for diversity and inclusion in college athletics and currently serves as head women's basketball coach at Virginia.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers. Representatives of NCAA member schools and conferences, along with a panel of former student-athletes, select each year's recipients.

The 2022 recipients are Maiya Anderson, Tim Duncan, Warrick Dunn, Cmdr. Matthew Humphreys, Katie King Crowley and Tina Thompson. The NCAA will recognize the honorees at the Honors Celebration on Jan. 19 during the 2022 NCAA Convention in Indianapolis. The awards ceremony also will be streamed via the NCAA Twitter account. 

USC's NCAA Silver Anniversary Award Winners
 1973 — John Ferraro (football)
1984 — Al Geiberger (golf)
1991 — Mike Garrett (football)
1993 — Stan Smith (tennis)
1999 — Lynn Swann (football)
2000 — Pat Haden (football)
2002 — John Naber (swimming)
2003 — Debbie Landreth Brown (volleyball)
2004 — Bruce Furniss (swimming)
2005 — Paul McDonald (football)
2007 — Bill Stetson (volleyball)
2010 — Jack Del Rio (football, baseball)
2014 — Rodney Peete (football, baseball)
2019 — Lisa Leslie (basketball)
2022 — Tina Thompson (basketball)