Skip to main content

UW Heads To Big Island For Amer Ari Invitational

Feb 1, 2022

The Washington men's golf team returns to action this Thursday through Saturday at The Amer Ari Invitational at Hapuna Golf Course, near Waimea on the Big Island of Hawai'i.
The No. 1 Huskies opened the spring season last week (Mon.-Wed., Jan. 24-26) at the Southwestern Invitational, where the UW finished third. The Amer Ari will provide another very strong field of teams, including highly-ranked ( rankings) programs like No. 2 North Carolina, No. 3 Arizona State, No. 4 Oklahoma State, No. 6 Pepperdine, No. 7 Stanford, and No. 8 Texas, among others.
"This will be an extremely competitive tournament as it boasts one of the strongest fields of the year," said UW head coach Alan Murray. "We have experience from the course last year and it can be extremely windy and is very demanding if the wind blows.
"Our guys are feeling good and their games are in good shape," Murray continued "They are excited to get back at it after the last tournament at the Southwestern Invitational where they performed really well. I think that has given us some confidence but they are experienced enough to know that you have to earn it every single day in this sport and we want to ensure we have a great attitude and solid game plan for what the course will throw at us."
Washington will send seven golfers to the Kohala Coast, including two who will play as individuals. Here is the lineup for Washington:
1. RJ Manke
2. Noah Woolsey
3. Petr Hruby 
4. Teddy Lin
5. Bo Peng 
Individual: Taehoon Song and Drew Warford
"This is another opportunity for our group to see where we stand relative to the best teams in the country" Murray noted, "and we are really looking forward to the challenge."
The Amer Ari, co-hosted by the University of Hawai'i and Hawai'i-Hilo, began in 1992, and was previously held at the King's Course in Waikoloa Village through 2019. Two Huskies have won the individual title: Nick Taylor in 2010 and Cheng-Tsung Pan in 2015. The Huskies shared the team title with UCLA in 2013.