Skip to main content

Team-Record 24 Bears Earn NFHCA Academic Squad Honors

Feb 8, 2022
Left to Right: Maddie Cleat, Rachel Buttinger, Bryn Zorilla and Kiki de Bruijne are among a record 24 Bears to earn NFHCA academic honors.

BERKELEY – Four-time honorees Ryan Poe and Brynn Zorilla were among a program-record 24 California field hockey players named to the 2021 NFHCA Academic Squad, the national governing body announced Tuesday. Cal tied with Duke, Fairfield and Iowa for the second-most selections on the list, which included over 1,370 student-athletes from 80 teams.
The NFHCA National Academic Squad program, sponsored by OPA Winning Teams, honors collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the current academic year, and were nominated by their NFHCA member coach.
Including Zorilla and Poe, 230 selections – seniors or fifth-year student-athletes who are four-year honorees – were distinguished in the award listing. Bears joining the two on the 2021 list are Monica Arteaga, Rachel Buttinger, Maddie Cleat, Megan Connors, Kiki de Bruijne, Elana Eisenberg, Abbey Frame, Claire Hind, Makaela Hoang, Sabine Hommes, Gracie Jimenez, Annabelle Johnson, Cato Knipping, Marley Meyer, Natalie Moore, Jane Onners, Kaiden Stanley, Sara Stone, Lyndsay Swanston, Anne Van Hoof, Hanna Winn and Madeline Zacchini.
Arteaga, Connors, Hoang, Knipping and Meyer earned the honors for the third straight year. Cleat also garnered the recognition in 2018 and 2020. Bears claiming honors for the second straight season include Buttinger, de Bruijne, Frame, Hind, Hommes, Johnson, Moore, Onners, Stanley, Stone and Winn.
Cal placed a record number of student-athletes on the NFHCA Academic Squad for the second consecutive season, with 23 Bears collecting the accolades for 2020.