Skip to main content

Beavers Split Squad for Don Kirby Elite Invitational and Husky Classic

Feb 9, 2022

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The Oregon State women's track and field team will split this weekend for the Don Kirby Elite Invitational, hosted by the University of New Mexico and the Husky Classic, hosted by the University of Washington. Both meets are scheduled for Feb. 11-12. 
 
Don Kirby Elite Invitational | Albuquerque, NM | Feb. 11-12 
The Don Kirby Elite Invitational will kick off on Friday at 2 p.m. MT (1 p.m. PT). Oregon State will start the afternoon's competition off on the track with the unseeded 200 meters, which is slated for 2:55 p.m. MT (1:55 p.m. PT). The Beavers will open field competition with the women's long jump and women's high jump, both scheduled to start at 3 p.m. MT (2 p.m. PT). 
 
Action at the Don Kirby Elite Invitational will continue into Saturday with an 8:30 a.m. (7:30 a.m. PT) start. Oregon State's first event on the track will be the qualifying round of the women's  60-meter hurdles, set for 9:45 a.m. (8:45 a.m. PT). The Beavers' sole field event will be the women's triple jump, slated for 10:30 a.m. MT (9:30 a.m. PT). 
 
Husky Classic | Seattle, Wash. | Feb. 11-12
Action at the Husky Classic will begin at 2 p.m. PT on Friday. The Beavers' only field event of the day in Seattle will be the women's weight throw, scheduled for a 2:30 p.m. PT start. OSU will also start action on the track at 2:30 p.m. PT with the preliminary round of the women's 60-meter hurdles.
 
On Saturday, the Husky Classic will resume at 10 a.m. PT. The Beavers will compete in the women's shot put to start the day's competition and are slated to start running events with the women's 400 meters at noon. 
 
Last Time Out
Oregon State traveled to Spokane, Wash. for the WSU Invitational & Open, Feb. 3-5, totaling 15 top-10 finishes on the weekend. Junior Anneke Moersdorf and sophomore Delaney Bahn opened competition for the Beavers on Feb. 3, finishing second (3840 points) and seventh (3492 points), respectively, in their first career pentathlons. Moersdorf and Bahn are now third and fifth in the OSU's all-time list for the event. Sophomore Adael Scatena won the WSU Open's 400 meters with a personal-best of 56.84, which is the fifth fastest time in the Oregon State all-time records list. Redshirt senior Keely McLaughlin notched a second-place finish in the WSU Open shot put with a toss of 14.49m (47' 6.5"). In the WSU Invitational high jump, senior Emma Nelson tied for fourth after clearing a height of 1.71m (5' 7.25") and the 4x400-meter relay team of Scatena, freshman Jada Hurley, junior Paige Sefried, and freshman Chelsie Emmerson took sixth with a time of 3:52.42. 
 
NCAA Standings
In the 3000 meters, redshirt junior Kaylee Mitchell is currently 13th in the nation, with fellow redshirt junior Grace Fetherstonhaugh in 21st after clocking times of 9:03.26 and 9:06.86, respectively, at the UW Invitational (Jan. 28). Fetherstonhaugh is also 40th in 5000 meters, with a time of 16:26.02, set at the Spokane Invitational on Dec. 11. Moersdorf sits 39th in the pentathlon after scoring 3840 points at the WSU Invitational (Feb. 3-5). The distance medley relay (DMR) team of senior Mari Friedman, Scatena, freshman Jillian Brown, and sophomore Amber Jackson are currently 42nd with a time of 11:38.06, set at the UW Invitational (Jan. 28). 
 
Pac-12 Standings
The Beavers are in the top-10 in nine event categories on the Pac-12 Indoor Performance List. Mitchell remains in the lead in the 3000 meters category with Fetherstonhaugh in a close second. Fetherstonhagh and Mitchell also remain third and fourth, respectively, in the 5000 meters from their performances at the Spokane Invitational (Dec. 11). Moersdorf is fifth in the pentathlon (3840 points), sixth in the long jump (5.92m (19' 5.25")), and ninth in the triple jump (12.08m (39' 7.75")). OSU remains seventh in the DMR. The Beavers are eighth in the high jump with Denbow and Nelson's clearances of 1.73m (5' 8"), as well as the shot put with McLaughlin's toss of 14.49m (47' 6.5"), and in the pentathlon with Bahn's score of 3492 points. 
 
Don Kirby Elite Schedule of Events
Albuquerque, NM  | Feb. 11-12
Competing Beavers 
 
Friday, Feb. 11
Field Events
3:00 p.m. MT (2:00 p.m. PT) - Long Jump
Delaney Bahn
Anneke Moersdorf
Chelsea Howard
 
3:00 p.m. MT (2:00 p.m. PT)  - High Jump
Lara Denbow
Emma Nelson
Savannah Reilly
 
Track Events
2:55 p.m. MT (1:55 p.m. PT) - 200m
Delaney Bahn
Abby Buckley
Chelsie Emmerson
Jada Hurley
 
5:00 p.m. MT (4:00 p.m. PT) - 400m 
Chelsie Emmerson
Adael Scatena
Paige Sefried
 
Saturday, Feb. 12
Field Events
10:30 a.m. MT (9:30 a.m. PT) - Triple Jump 
Lara Denbow
Anneke Moersdorf
Jaaden Steele
 
Track Events
9:45 a.m. MT (8:45 a.m. PT) - 60m Hurdles | Qualifying Round
Adael Scatena
 
10:15 a.m. MT (9:15 a.m. PT) - 60m | Qualifying Round
Abby Buckley
Chelsea Howard
Jada Hurley
 
11:10 a.m. MT (10:10 a.m. PT) - 60m Hurdles | Semifinal 
 
11:30 a.m. MT (10:30 a.m. PT) - 60m | Semifinal
 
12:40 p.m. MT (11:40 a.m. PT) - 60m Hurdles | Final
 
1:35 p.m. MT (12:35 p.m. PT) - 60m | Final
 
Husky Classic Schedule of Events
Seattle, Wash.  | Feb. 11-12
*All Times Pacific

Competing Beavers 
 
Friday, Feb. 11
Field Events
2:30 p.m. - Weight Throw
Markayla Billings
Caitlyn Marx
Keely McLaughlin
Jade Whitfield
 
Track Events
2:30 p.m. - 60m Hurdles | Preliminary Round
Jade Newton
 
3:00 p.m. - 3000m | Heats 1-6
Liv Downing
Emily Foote
Aleen Golla
Kate Intile
Audrey Lookner
Gabby Peterson
Zoe Simmons
 
5:10 p.m. - 60m Hurdles | Final
 
7:15 p.m. - 200m
Jade Newton
 
8:35 p.m. -  3000m | Heats 7 & 8
Grace Fetherstonhaugh
Christina Geisler
Kaylee Mitchell
 
Saturday, Feb. 12
Field Events
10:00 a.m. - Shot Put
Keely McLaughlin
Jordan Spradlin
Jade Whitfield
 
Track Events
12:00 p.m. - 400m 
Sydney van der Zee
 
12:40 p.m. - Mile 
Grace Fetherstonhaugh
Christina Geisler
Amber Jackson
Kaylee Mitchell
Emily Perez
 
2:45 p.m. - 800m 
Mari Friedman